A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My movie is soooooooooooooo slow

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    62

    My movie is soooooooooooooo slow

    Hey folks....me again

    Well, 3 days away from the award ceremony and this bloody movie is giving me nightmares. Here's the scoop...I have a main movie and there are 6 movies that open up throughout the program. As I move through the program...by the time I get to the 4th movie it's just chugging. I'm thinking it's my laptop....(though it's brand new)...however, it's happened on my desktop (but no to this degree).

    My question: When I publish the movie...is there a better way to have the settings...an optimum way of publishing it to get the best performance? Example: Do I choose "compress movie".

    Is it better to use the .swf file to view the movie or the .exe.

    Is 22 fps enough? Should I speed it up?

    Any help would be...well, very helpful!!
    DANIMA Dave

  2. #2
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    movies usually chug as a result of far too much going on for the CPU to cope with.
    Cutting back on Bitmap tweens and _alpha tweens helps, making sure you clear setIntervals and end onEnterFrame loops is a must.

    The FPS setting is only a limiter, you can set 50 fps but if the CPU chokes your movie will still chug

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    62
    Sorry for the rookie response...but what are setIntervals and end onEnterFrame loops

    thanks for the quick response, btw
    DANIMA Dave

  4. #4
    Not really Fat... or a Cat ^_^
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    63
    Hi Danima:

    Of course I don't have much info about your project, but sounds like you are running out of resources (RAM).

    I'm curious about the method you used to insert the 6 movies into your flash file.

    If you embedded the movies in the main project, there's no doubt they are clogging down your output, you may want to keep them movies in separate files (swf or flv) and load them at runtime for improved performance.

    If you are already loading them at runtime... then make sure you are unloading them once you are through with them, to free memory and speed things up.

    Hope this helps, should you need more help, drop us a line ^_^

    ---Gambare!
    What are you going to do about it?... There's gotta be people for everything --Joan Manoel Serrat

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    96
    You should avoid setIntervals in your programs ... most probably, 90% will be the setInterval creating some problem... can you post your file or some code ... ??... you have to clear the interval after using it... it will keep on running and will use the memory for stack of variables in it...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    62
    Could I upload them to one of our FTP sites and send you the username/password?
    DANIMA Dave

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    62
    Btw, I forgot to answer Fat Cat. They are seperate movies. The last button has the following:

    _level0.nextFrame();
    unloadMovie(_self);

    All of the linked movies have this on the last frame
    DANIMA Dave

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    96
    You can send me the file in private message ...

  9. #9
    Not really Fat... or a Cat ^_^
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    63
    Hi Danima:

    Code:
    _level0.nextFrame();
    unloadMovie(_self);
    For some reason I don't think your movies are being unloaded, this button you refer to... it looks like is on the loaded movie since you refer to _level0 (main movie)

    If you go to _level0.nextFrame(); and the loaded movie is no longer active on this frame, the second statement may not work.

    Besides I'm not sure about your use of _self (shouldn't be "this"??).

    Anyway, you may like to experiment putting the unload command in the frame you are comming to (the next frame you refer to):
    Code:
    _level2.unloadMovie();
    This way you make shure that the movie has being unloaded before doing anything else (I used _level2, but change it to whatever level you are loading to)

    Another thing, if you load your movies always on the same level (_level2, for example) any new movie will load over the older one, replacing it... without the need to unload anything.

    --Hope this helps!!!
    Last edited by FatCat; 03-02-2006 at 07:02 PM.
    What are you going to do about it?... There's gotta be people for everything --Joan Manoel Serrat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center