A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] Not all elements uploading

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    157

    [RESOLVED] Not all elements uploading

    I am developing a site exclusively in Flash. Tested locally, everything works fine. When I upload, however, some elements of the site don't appear. BUT, if I Command-R (reload the browser window on my Mac) the elements pop in. You may try it if you'd like ...

    http://www.versatilesettings.com/belier.html

    I've tested it on Mac and PC using IE (both platforms) and Safari (Mac). Same results on all. I've tried exporting as both v7 and v8 with identical results.

    The items are on the timeline of my main stage (not called in with loadMovie() or the like).

    Suggestions??

  2. #2
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    The word uploading was a bit confusing

    Yes I noticed the sound is not loading and the loading is really slow the first time. How is your site set up? Can you give some more information.
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    157
    I have designated frames one and two as frames for my preloader. I am using an animation that I created in Swift 3D as the preloader. I placed that animation on frame one as a movie clip.

    The code on frames one and two is as follows:

    Frame One:
    var preLoader:Number=Math.round(getBytesLoaded()/getBytesTotal())*100;
    outputText_txt.text=preLoader+"% Loaded";

    Frame Two:
    if(preLoader<100) {
    gotoAndPlay(1);
    } else {
    gotoAndStop(3);
    }

    The elements that aren't initially displaying are simple movie clips and/or graphics embedded on the main timeline.

    Do you need any more info than that? If so, please let me know specifically what you need and I'll reply again.

    Thanks for your time -

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    157

    Something with that preloader

    Okay, I removed the preloader altogether and everything loads fine. For some reason it's go(ing)toAndStop(ping) before getBytesLoaded()/getBytesTotal=100. I'm narrowing it down, but am open to suggestions.

    Thanks all!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    157

    Got It!

    The problem was in my preloader. It should have read ...

    Math.round((getBytesLoaded()/getBytesTotal())*100)

    It was reading ...
    Math.round(getBytesLoaded()/getBytesTotal())*100

  6. #6
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    I should say this thread is resolved.
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center