A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I swear Flash doesnt work properly

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    37

    I swear Flash doesnt work properly

    How do I move to a certain scene using action script.
    Heres my current code
    onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
    if (_parent.health<=0) {
    tellTarget ("_parent._parent.") {
    gotoAndStop("Death",1)

    }
    but that doesnt send me to the right frame, AND I need to remove the
    duplicates that I create in my game. Please I need help I will be ever so greatful
    AND I will mention you in the credits

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    137
    What does the tellTarget command mean? :P Ive created a game and never used that command... maybe I can help you if you tell me what it does..

    It seems to me that this code would work?

    onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
    if (_parent.health<=0) {
    _parent._parent.gotoAndStop("Death",1);
    }
    Last edited by Tempesta; 07-24-2006 at 10:00 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by Tempesta
    What does the tellTarget command mean? :P Ive created a game and never used that command... maybe I can help you if you tell me what it does..
    its basicly the same as . syntax like _parent._root.lol.gotoAndPlay(1)
    its a targeting script I was just trying that out instead of .syntax
    to see if that works. But it doent. All I want is to make the main movie
    to go to the Death Scene, BUT IT WONT FOR SOME STRANGE REASON,
    lol

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    137
    well cant you just write:
    if(_root.health<=0) {
    _root.gotoAndStop("death");
    }
    then, or am I missing something here? ;P

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by Tempesta
    well cant you just write:
    if(_root.health<=0) {
    _root.gotoAndStop("death");
    }
    then, or am I missing something here? ;P
    No that does not work.
    lol

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    21
    Do you have your scene named "Death". Also check the case of the name.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center