A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: gotoAndPlay script not working

gotoAndPlay script not working

Hey hey.

So here's my problem. I'm building my first actual flash site. I've had a lot of experience in other aspects of flash...just not a lot of scripting. My scripting attempts have been successful up until now. I have a button which I want, on release, to gotoAndPlay a different scene, first frame which I have named "about". This is the script I entered.

on (release) {gotoAndPlay("about", "1");
    }

But, whenever I test the movie, it just...well...doesn't work. No error messages come up or anything...it just doesn't prompt the new scene. Any idea's why this might be? I'd really appreciate any help!

If I were you I would try to stay away from scenes. With that code it is tryint go to to "about" in the current scene

Well it allows me to specify whether i'm choosing a scene or just a frame. But what are my other options...I can't have that much info all in one movie clip, you know? I'm eventually going to need to know how to properly navigate between scenes.

i hear you, i asked the same question last week, i never got an answer...maybe theres no way to do it?

Odd, my friend suggested using this method over the phone the other day, so I'm assuming it can be done. I've been trying all day to figure out why and find a way around it but I'm stuck.

well if you happen to find out please let me know

If I were you I would copy all the frames for what ever is passed the first scene, and past them into a new fla file and publish that. it will save you from running into problems later on. Also more people will be able to help you with your questions that way.

How can I navigate from one flash file to another with a button script?

I have a button which I want, on release, to gotoAndPlay a different scene, first frame which I have named "about". This is the script I entered.

on (release) {gotoAndPlay("about", "1");
    }