A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: [RESOLVED] The frustration a scrollbar can cause - xml loaded text

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    79

    [RESOLVED] The frustration a scrollbar can cause - xml loaded text

    can anyone shed any light on a really frustrating problem I having regarding a swf which handles dynamically loaded xml content.

    basically I am loading this ' xml.swf ' into the main site called ' main.swf '

    Everything is fine at first, however when I move the scrollbar of the text field all the text contained within it gets selected.

    can anyone help me or give me any advice ...

    would really appreciate it

    before I go bald !

    thanks in advance

    suzi x

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    79
    I forgot to mention,

    I am using this code on my xml.swf

    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////



    //init TextArea component
    myText.html = true;
    myText.wordWrap = true;
    myText.multiline = true;
    myText.label.condenseWhite=true;
    myText.selectable=false;
    myText.depthChild0._alpha=0;



    //load css
    kungFuStyle = new TextField.StyleSheet();
    kungFuStyle.load("kungfu.css");
    myText.styleSheet = kungFuStyle;

    //load in XML
    kungFuContent = new XML();
    kungFuContent.ignoreWhite = true;
    kungFuContent.load("kungfu.xml");
    kungFuContent.onLoad = function(success)
    {
    if(success)
    {
    myText.text = kungFuContent;
    }
    }


    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////


    I thought the ' myText.selectable=false; ' would do the trick but its not,

    any help ?

    thanks in advance

  3. #3
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    Could you publish your files once on your server to see the effect.
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    79
    it seems i am not alone,

    check this page from actionscript.org

    loads of flashers are having the same problem with it seems no solution.

    is this basically unsolvable,

    a real project depends on this

    here is the link :

    http://www.actionscript.org/forums/s...d.php3?t=45443

  5. #5
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    Which are you using the textarea or scrollbar component?
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  6. #6
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    The solution is simple.It is a problem with all components. You need to have the textarea in the parent movie as well. Then all the problems disappear, no bug no nothing
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    79
    im realising that yes, i need to have the text area in the main.swf.

    but to keep loading times down my original plan was to have all items in the homepage load in as external swf's. Now its becoming clear that dynamically loading a swf which contains an xml text area component isnt, it seems, possible.

    Will having my xml text area component beef up my loading times?

    A preloader for this would be the way to go,

    Any advice,

    Thanks for your help,

    really appreciate it

    suzi x

  8. #8
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    No you misunderstand. You have your textarea in the child movie of course, but put the textarea in the library of the parent movie also. So just take your parent movie as you have it and place the textarea on your stage and delete it and test movie.
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    79
    My God !

    My love for you has grown very strong...we have to get married !

    That worked a treat, may I asked how you found that solution.

    Thank you very much,

    will send you a link when the site is complete.

    suzi x

  10. #10
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    Wow, what an offer

    It all started with the combobox, which gives a problem. The scrollpane gives green border etc.
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    32
    Hi I have unsuccessfully tried to put the textarea in the library of the parent movie like Cncerinform suggested to do, does any one got another solution?
    thanks
    bradinho

    Quote Originally Posted by cancerinform
    No you misunderstand. You have your textarea in the child movie of course, but put the textarea in the library of the parent movie also. So just take your parent movie as you have it and place the textarea on your stage and delete it and test movie.

  12. #12
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    Quote Originally Posted by bradinho
    Hi I have unsuccessfully tried to put the textarea in the library of the parent movie like Cncerinform suggested to do, does any one got another solution?
    thanks
    bradinho
    What exactly is your problem, the same as above?
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    32

    text highlighted in a textArea

    Hi,

    yes my problem is very similar, but I am using flash8
    So i have some html text (with various colour settings, and some hyperlink) in a textArea. when I open the swf file it all works fine, but as soon as I insert the movie in another .swf file the use of the scroll highlight the whole content of the textArea. There is also the green line all around the component. Do you have any idea?

    thanks

    bradinho

  14. #14
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    If the problem does not disappear by putting all components in the library of the parent movie you have probably an additional scope problem. Try locking the root of the movieclip, into which you load the movie.

    mc._lockroot = true;
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    32
    Hi

    First of all thanks for the help.

    I tried the "._lockroot = true;" option on the movieclip without success, then I tried to add "enabled = false" to that same movieclip and it did the work.

    so far it works on my computer but I havent tried on a server yet. The html displays itself pretty well and the hyperlinks are actives.

    Now not being a good actionscript developper I fail to understand why it (mc.enabled = false did the trick. would you have any idea? or this might be another flash mysteries................

    thanks again

    bradinho

  16. #16
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    I frankly don't know your movie. As you can imagine in many cases here we are doing a guessing game

    enabled = false is normally used on a movieclip to disable button functions.
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center