A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Advice for a college graduate interested in web design

wiggle your jiggle TrytoAnimate's Avatar

Advice for a college graduate interested in web design

I am posting this question here, as I'm sure most of you have more experience than I do and can maybe offer me some advice. I graduated 4 years ago from a university with a BA degree in Communications focusing primarily in Web Design & Advertising. Upon graduating I was offered a job with very low pay, and quite a far distance from my house. Looking back, I wish I had took the job for merely the resume experience, but I opted for survival & social interaction and continued life as a bartender. Over the past 4 years, I have constantly had people asking me to do sites for them, and I am more than happy to because I enjoy doing it. Over the past year, the private club that I work for told me they wanted to get a website up and asked me if I'd be interested in helping run it for them. For whatever reason, the GM was impressed at how easy I handled things and keeps telling me I'm in the wrong industry and need to get back to doing something like that full-time. Ironically, I've been feeling the same way for a long time.