dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [F8] Pathetic Button

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    57

    [F8] Pathetic Button

    Forgive me, I'm learning, but getting a headache. My first frame has buttons. I want each of those buttons, when clicked, to go to a certain frame (like an interactive slideshow. Not linear.) How do I phrase the action script? I've tried different ways, but usually get a handler error. Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Interactive Designer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    154
    well, right click the button, open the actions panel. Then try:

    on(release){
    gotoAndPlay("12");
    }

    "12" being whatever frame number you want!

  3. #3
    Senior Member RangrJay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    163
    name your buttons. then in your AS
    Code:
    stop();
    buttonName.onRelease = function():Void
    {
      gotoAndPlay(4);
    }
    //and etc for the rest of your buttons.
    Xero Patience Studios
    Web Design
    Software Development
    Graphic/Logo Design

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    57
    On the second suggestion I still get:
    Statement must appear within on handler
    buttonName.onRelease = function():Void

    Total ActionScript Errors: 4 Reported Errors: 4

    Any suggestions?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    57
    On the first sugestion I get:
    Syntax error.
    dup = "body" add m;

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    57
    skip that last one, buggy script, fixed it I think. Still no go with the action though

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center