dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Question about removing movieclips

  1. #1
    Flashmatics silentweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    4,876

    Question about removing movieclips

    Hi guys,

    Im not having a problem as such, but for learning purposes trying to figure out the following:

    Now removeMovieClip() method can remove any movieclip whose depth is between 0 and 1048575. Hence we can remove even author-time movieclips if we first swap their depth to positive.

    Now the question is unloadMovie() seems to remove both runtime and authortime movie clips at any depth.. negative or positive, and even greater than 1048575

    so why would one use removeMovieClip instead of unloadMovie()?

    Thanks in advance....
    Flashmatics | Flashmatics Library (free downloads)
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Latest Projects:
    The Dead Room | Are You Smarter | Prison Break (Frame A Friend) | Beck's Fusions | The 24 Experience

    -----------------------------------------------------
    Flash Certified Developer

  2. #2
    Senior Member Shotsy247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Be there in a minute!
    Posts
    1,386
    unloadMovie() doesn't remove the instance of the movieClip rather it removes the contents of the movieClip.

    removeMovieClip() removes the instance of the clip.

    _t
    I don't feel tardy.

  3. #3
    Flashmatics silentweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    4,876
    aha ur right:

    the instance is still there (even though in effect it becomes invisible, due to its contents begin removed) and therefore it looks like its been removed...

    thanks for that
    Last edited by silentweed; 09-01-2006 at 08:29 AM.
    Flashmatics | Flashmatics Library (free downloads)
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Latest Projects:
    The Dead Room | Are You Smarter | Prison Break (Frame A Friend) | Beck's Fusions | The 24 Experience

    -----------------------------------------------------
    Flash Certified Developer

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5
    hmmm unload movie isnt making my movie clips invisible.
    How EXACTLY then would I change the depth?

    In other threads people have posted some code for the depth but I haven't a clue where to put it ><

  5. #5
    Senior Member Shotsy247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Be there in a minute!
    Posts
    1,386
    What code are you using?

    _t
    I don't feel tardy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center