A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: actionscript 3.0 and c++ i want to know???

actionscript 3.0 and c++ i want to know???

Hi I'm new to flash well im new to everything but i have been reading somethings.
    Anyway i want to learn everything, this computer stuff is alright wish i would have started when i was 20yrs old but o well

My name is "Al" i wanted to ask
    one of you something about actionscript 3.0

Is 3.0 as powerful as c++ or will it be?

Can you do the same or more with
    actionscript 3.0 than c++?

Are you able to use open gl or direct x with 3.0?

will the new flash be able to do 3d rotations like director can
    or better yet will the new flash be able to replace director all together?

Is AS3 as fast as c++? nope not even close. AS3 is not even as fast as java, which is quite a bit slower than c++. But no one can expect a client-side multi-platform high-level programming language like flash to be even close in performance to a low level (almost machine language level) language such as c++

On the bright side though, flash is getting faster. maybe not as fast as java yet, but it sure is much nicer to develop with than java (at least visually)

As of now, flash doesn't have any directx/opengl support, but from what i read on a thread here just a few minutes ago, f10 might have it.
    If you'd like to use directx/opengl support though, it's possible but only in executables (exe files, not on the web) with programs like zinc

flash doesn't have any support for 3d rendering, but someone just might create a library which will add that support (like what sandy's 3d engine does in as2)
    Pixelwave Flash-based iPhone framework
    iPhone Games: Flyloop | Freedom Run

Twitter: Oztune

C++ is not almost machine language level, its no-where near,