A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [MX04] make an email button in a movieclip

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    14

    [resolved][MX04] How can I make an email button in a movieclip?

    Hi

    I've looked and tried several different things but can't seem to make a button in a movieclip that onRelease opens a new email with the email address already in the "to" section.

    I have been able to make this work if the button is on the main timeline - just not when in a movie clip - even though the button appears to recognise the "over" and "down" states.

    the code I put on the main timeline that works fine is

    nameOfButton_btn.onRelease = function(){
    getURL("mailto:firstname.lastname@email.com");
    }



    I thought perhaps something as below

    movieClipInstance.nameOfButton_btn.onRelease = function(){
    getURL("mailto:firstname.lastname@email.com");
    }


    but this didn't seem to work.
    I tried putting this in both the main timeline and the movieclip timeline...but NOPE!

    this is to be used on invites that will be emailed out. - the reciever can click on the "Click here to RSVP" button

    Can anyone help?

    Many thanks!
    Last edited by tigercat; 10-30-2006 at 07:37 PM. Reason: resolved

  2. #2
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,488
    Get this attachment and try some of these options. Should work.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    14
    I've attached a test file.
    I havn't been putting anything automatically in the subject lines but the crew that send the invites out will be more than happy if I can do that. - so thanks.

    but I still can't make the button work if it's hiding in a movie clip. My guess is I need to point to the movieclip somehow but everything I try just doens't happen.

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,488
    Thats because the button didn't appear til the last frame in the clip timeline. So your code is using the instance name of the button, but not the instance name of the movie clip it was in.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    14
    Thank you!
    I thought I'd tried this- but as I get myself tangled up between movies, button and the root timeline. - I must have tried everything but!!!1

    Thank you so much!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center