A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] Dynamic News System help please!

  1. #1
    Huh, Radio.
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    22

    [RESOLVED] Dynamic News System help please!

    I am trying to create a dynamic news system with the assistance of PHP and mySQL. Basically, I want to create like an archive, so that when a new news item is added, it will be added onto the list, and a button will be created in flash that will use a goto action to display the news. How can I go about dynamically creating a button?

    Been stumped for hours! Please help, thanks!
    Last edited by pyramidhead; 12-02-2006 at 03:13 AM.

  2. #2
    Huh, Radio.
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    22
    So I figured out how to create dynamically loaded button, simply by creating a dynamic text field with a certain variable, the value of which is called from a PHP script, and then converting it into a button. In the main movie, I created actions on frame 1 that simply say:
    Code:
    loadVariablesNum("messing2.php", 0, "POST")
    So the button's text is dynamically loaded... but how would I go about creating an ongoing list of these buttons that is automatically updated when a new news item is added? As in, the user posts a new article for today, how can I create one of these dynamic buttons that would be on the top of a list of all the older news items?

    Basically, I want something like ultrashock's latest news system. Thanks for any insight.
    Last edited by pyramidhead; 12-02-2006 at 04:57 AM. Reason: added a link

  3. #3
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    my 2c's

    make a movieclip that contains button and textfield
    give the clip a Linkage Identifier in the Library
    get php to output the number of news items
    use this number in a loop to attach clips to stage

    hth

  4. #4
    Huh, Radio.
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    22
    This sounds right... but I'm still pretty new to all this so might take me a while to turn that reply into complete english, unless someone can describe it a little better.

    Thanks a lot for the reply though.

  5. #5
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    OK
    I have a movieclip in the Library, with Linkage ID - clip
    it has a textfield, instance name - txt
    covering the textfield is an invisible (hit frame only) button, instance name - btn

    bring the external variables into Flash and add them to arrays, so you have -
    Code:
    newsArray = ["item1","item2","item3","item4","item5"];
    linkArray = ["link1","link2","link3","link4","link5"];
    find the length of the array and use it in the loop -
    Code:
    len = newsArray.length;
    
    for(var n=0; n!=len; n++){
    this.attachMovie("clip","clip"+n,n+1000);
    ref = this["clip"+n];
    ref._x = 10;
    ref._y = n*25;
    ref.txt.text = newsArray[n];
    buttons(ref,n); // create the button links
    }
    
    function buttons(cl,id){
    cl.btn.onRelease = function(){
    trace(linkArray[id]);
    }
    };
    hope this is a little clearer

  6. #6
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    file attached,
    uses a simple text file to hold the variables, and LoadVars to populate the textfields via the arrays.

    you will have to get your php to output something similiar

  7. #7
    Huh, Radio.
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    22
    Thanks so much for helping me out, a buddy and I have been stumped with this for forever, I really appreciate the time you put into your response.

    Looks like it should work perfectly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center