A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: [HELP] Volume control and sound objects

[HELP] Volume control and sound objects

Hi, sorry if that question has been asked many times. But I still don't get it
    I'm creating a game and all the music worked fine until I noticed something:
    if I tell the music to fade out, all the sounds are affected (so I have no sounds if I have no music). I have read some tutorials and the Faqs here (Faq#4 i think) and it seems I have to attach the sound to a movie clip:
    Code:
    myMusic = new Sound(target path to unique mc);
    Now when I want to fade in and out, does the code have to be inside that clip? I'm very new with all the myMusic.attachSound("musicName"); stuff.. This is the code i made for fade in (fade out is quite similar but opposite) on a mc in the _root. timeline:
    Code:
    onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
    i = 5;

if (fade == "in")
    {
    if(_root.volumeValue < 50)
    {_root.volumeValue += i;}
    else if(_root.volumeValue >= 50)
    {_root.volumeValue = 50;}
    }

_root.myMusic.setVolume(_root.volumeValue);

}
    I have tried many things but not the right one I guess.. Can someone help me with that?

have you associated the sound object with a movie clip?

if not, then one simple way to do this is to make an empy mc, put it on the stage give it an instance name then use this instance name in the Sound() function.

You can also dynamically create the movie clip, instead of manually placing it on the stage.

// this code generates a movie clip named snd, attached to the current timeline and associates the mc with the sound object.
    myMusic = new Sound(createEmptyMovieClip("snd",getNextHighestDep th()));

Quote Originally Posted by hp3
    have you associated the sound object with a movie clip?

if not, then one simple way to do this is to make an empy mc, put it on the stage give it an instance name then use this instance name in the Sound() function.