dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [F8] Sound Button not visible on website

  1. #1
    KathyA
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    [F8] Sound Button not visible on website

    Hi - first time posting. Beating head against a wall with what may be a simple problem. I want to control background sound for the home page of a website with on and off buttons. Took the compressed music file and selected the on/off buttons from the Library to use with this. Was successful with this process - when tested, the buttons work with the sound and when saved and placed onto my Dreamweaver page, it works on the browser preview. But, when it is uploaded onto the site, it is not visible at all. Have checked and double checked and made sure the swf and html files were on the server, but can't figure out what I am doing wrong or what is missing. Funny thing is that I had been able to upload and view a "test" button on the site previously, but don't know what I did then that I'm not doing now. (deleted the file, unfortunately)
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    Can you post your URL ? I need to see it for my self.

  3. #3
    KathyA
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    Sound Button not visible on website

    The site is far from finished but here it is:
    www.michaelsstaffingservice.com

    The button movie fits between the Audio off and Audio on text.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Amazed and Amused Mazoonist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    201
    There is one "gotcha" with web browsers. You might be seeing a cached version of your web page. This will cause you to think it didn't really upload after all, when it actually did.

    First, clear the cache:

    To clear the cache in Firefox 2, go to Tools, Options, Private Data, Clear Private Data.

    In IE7, Tools, Internet Options, General Tab, Browsing History, Delete..., then under Temporary Internet files: Delete Files.

    Next, reload the page. Either visit it again, or if you're already there, click the reload or refresh button.

    If I'm wrong about this being the problem, I apologize, but I've got a pretty good hunch it is, and it's easy to try.

  5. #5
    Amazed and Amused Mazoonist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    201
    Well, sorry, I don't get a button either. So I was wrong. sorry.

  6. #6
    KathyA
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    [F8] Sound Button not visible on website Reply to Thread

    I also tried clearing all the browsers and no luck.

  7. #7
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    I only see one embeded .swf:

    flash/cateringimageset1.swf


    Which is embedded wrong:

    Look here for the right way ( http://blog.deconcept.com/swfobject/ )

    Also your background image is repeating itself and on my 19" Widescreen, it looks funny.

  8. #8
    KathyA
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5
    I feel like an idiot - just figured out what the problem was. I was looking at my page properties to correct the repeat on the background of my home page (thanks for pointing that out to me estudioworks - did I correct it?) and uploaded the page after making a change - the buttons are now there. I knew it had to be something simple - I was uploading the files but neglected to upload the index page! So before everyone starts yelling and swearing at me let me explain that I am new in web design and though I have a graphic design background, I still have much to learn with the web. If you could cut me a little slack, that would be great!
    Thanks to all your help. I know I will be back!
    KA

  9. #9
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    Background problem is fixed

    I would still use the SWF object to embed my swf though

  10. #10
    KathyA
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks estudioworks - I will work on embedding the swf.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center