A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Actionscript 1 user feels left behind...

Unhappy Actionscript 1 user feels left behind...

Hi guys,

I've made a few games, and wouldnt say im a newbie in flash.

I've been reading about the new version of flash coming out soon -- Flash CS3 -- and it looks great, but its all actionscript 3.

I've never even tried actionscript 2.

I've always been able to do everything i want in 1, so never found the need.

How had have you found it to move to version 3? Do all the old commands still work to hide the mouse / on enter keyframe and everything?

any info would be great, I plan on learning it, and i have done OO in uni, but it made little sense (i noticed a "class" in the demo on the adobe screen, so im gussing its all OO now?) -- do you have to use objects/classes/etc -- it just seems to take longer to do anything.

Cheers for any help.

Regards.

half as fun, double the price senocular's Avatar
    Will it take longer? Yes, in many cases theres more work to do the same thing. In the end, though, its more organized and the extra work is usually the result of more flexibility.

And yes, AS3 is also entirely class based. However, a lot of that is hidden from the user when working in the Flash IDE. For example, you can write code on the timeline and not in class files and Flash will automatically create the classes for you when you publish the SWF. So though you don't need to know anything about classes, it would help... and it is especially helpful in understanding that process of converting the timeline script to a class since much of what you could do in AS2 no longer applies (such as creating a named function twice in the same timeline, even if on different frames).