dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 65

Thread: 8 Core Mac Pro released + Cinema Display price cuts!

  1. #21
    Senior Member flipsideguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    834
    Less confusing or not, it's a little sensationalistic to call it that.
    Flipsideguy

  2. #22
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    It actually is the first 3GHz 8 core workstation, you can't buy the 4 core xeons at 3GHz right now. Apple got them exlusively before anyone else.

    Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  3. #23
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    Quote Originally Posted by gerbick
    Awesome. Maybe now I'll pick up a Dual G5 for mad cheap now.
    You can have mine ... however, I guess shipping costs would make my old G5 more expensive for you than a new entry level Mac Pro.

    Btw, a Dell with the exact same specs, but with two 2.66GHz quad core CPU's is more than $1000 more than this 8 core Mac. The 3GHz Xeons really aren't available anywhere, no price lists, nothing.

    Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  4. #24
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    HP has one as well. 3800.00 or so. 2gb of RAM standard. Nvidia Quadro FX3500.

    In stock now.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  5. #25
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    Do you have a link? Can't find a 3.0GHz quad option on the HP page.

    Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  6. #26
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    here and here... found them by pure accident actually.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  7. #27
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    That's two dual core Xeons, not two quad core Xeons.

    Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  8. #28
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    hmm, google steered me wrong, I read too fast... nice catch.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  9. #29
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    http://blogs.zdnet.com/Ou/?p=462

    Apple with its exclusive partnership with Intel gets to be the first to launch Intel's 3 GHz "Clovertown" quad-core processor in a dual socket configuration. This gives the new Mac Pro record breaking performance in the first 8-core workstation computer.

    Server manufacturers like HP, IBM, Dell, Fujitsu aren't far behind and they will soon be releasing their 3 GHz quad-core dual-socket servers.
    Nobody else has them right now and you can't even get the CPU's directly from Intel. It's for now an Apple exclusive.

    Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  10. #30
    Guest User Damaso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    213

    octa-core

    also known as octa-core. Maybe once I get extra cash and paid all my loan, I can start with dual quad-core motherboard and work my way up. It's gonna be like a mini residential version of a corporate render farm.
    "Long live fk'ers, keep fk'ing."

  11. #31
    Senior Member random25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    566
    Too bad it probably still cant run windows with out some sort of virtualization, or even i might consider buying one.

    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. Carl Sagan

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,808
    Quote Originally Posted by random25
    Too bad it probably still cant run windows with out some sort of virtualization, or even i might consider buying one.
    Did you forget bootcamp? That's not virtualization.
    .

  13. #33
    Str8 Gangster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    62
    I don't think windows is even close to configured to handle 8 cores.

  14. #34
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    Hey, one core per virus!

    Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  15. #35
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    Quote Originally Posted by xixjfastxix
    I don't think windows is even close to configured to handle 8 cores.
    It is. It can be scaled up for that. Just that the apps aren't threaded largely to handle the multiple cores.

    Same for OSX. Perhaps the OS. But not all of the apps.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  16. #36
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    Quote Originally Posted by gerbick
    Same for OSX. Perhaps the OS. But not all of the apps.
    Don't forget the Dashboard, every Widget is an own process, so every Widget can get one of the cores.

    Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  17. #37
    Senior Member random25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    566
    Quote Originally Posted by swak
    Did you forget bootcamp? That's not virtualization.
    Doesn't windows run slower in bootcamp than it would natively?

    Quote Originally Posted by gerbick
    It is. It can be scaled up for that. Just that the apps aren't threaded largely to handle the multiple cores.
    Good point, those extra cores wouldn't do me any good, I don't think any of the programs i have can take advantage of them.

    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. Carl Sagan

  18. #38
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    Bootcamp runs Windows as fast as normal installs. It just basically is a fancy PR word for OS chooser, like LiLO or GRUB.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  19. #39
    Senior Member random25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    566
    oh, i did not know that.
    well... I'm liking apple more all the time.
    Still don't know if i would ever buy one though, i just don't like the idea of buying a computer instead of building one myself.
    Last edited by random25; 04-05-2007 at 09:57 PM.

    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. Carl Sagan

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,808
    A plus with buying one is if it does in fact have a problem you can blame it the seller and get them to fix it for the most part.
    .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center