A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why Web 2.0 Sucks

Why Web 2.0 Sucks

I feel like I've gone on this rant before.

I'm not talking about technology, I'm talking about user generated content and the "architecture of participation", where everyone has a voice and can chime in to form trends and opinions. We've all seen the garbage on MySpace, the nonsense comments on YouTube...and worse yet people who post and respond in video on YouTube. Don't even get me started on spelling and punctuation. Apparently that's not part of the Web 2.0 ideology either.

But this...this takes the damn cake and swallows it whole. I was (for some awful unknown reason) perusing the user comments for the new Elliott Smith release on iTunes. I don't know what else I was expecting to find given the mall-dwelling, American Idol watching, spoiled brat, mouth-breathing demographic that buys regularly from there. (Emphasis mine, crap spelling original.):

"very good. I am new to artist but I think he is good. Not as good as Jack Johnson but similar style."

"he sings like he's mumbling nooooo vocals at al ughh i-tunes you made a biiig mistake[bunch of exclamation points]and...[more exclamation points]"

Remind me never to have kids.
    Last edited by PAlexC; 05-22-2007 at 12:31 AM.
    "What really bugs me is that my mom had the audacity to call Flash Kit a bunch of 'inept jack-asses'." - sk8Krog
    ...and now I have tape all over my face.

There are 20 angels in this world
    10 are sleeping
    9 are playing
    1 is reading this

put this on 4 threads within 15 mins,if u do, sum one u love will surprise u sum how!! If u don’t , u will lose ur love.!!

seriously now.