dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Loadvars not working...need help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    Loadvars not working...need help

    I am trying to create a phonebook with mx 2004 pro, asp, and sql (access for now) using IE 6 sp2
    if i use the following it loads the returning variables into the textbox -but I don't know how i am unable to create an array and send them to a datagrid:

    on (release) {
    loadVariablesNum("dbphone0.asp?Record=" add myrecord, 0);
    myrecord="";
    firstName="";
    lastName="";
    City="";
    errorMsg="Please wait";
    }

    if i use the following i get nothing back:

    var submitListener:Object = new Object();
    submitListener.click = function(evt:Object) {
    var result_lv:LoadVars = new LoadVars();
    result_lv.onLoad = function(success:Boolean) {
    if (success) {
    firstName = result_lv.firstName;
    } else {
    firstName = "Error connecting to server.";
    }
    };
    var send_lv:LoadVars = new LoadVars();
    send_lv.myrecord = myrecord.text;
    send_lv.sendAndLoad("dbphone0.asp", result_lv, "POST");
    };
    submit_button.addEventListener("click", submitListener);

    and if I use the following i get my results back in a new IE window:

    var submitListener:Object = new Object();
    submitListener.click = function(evt:Object) {
    var result_lv:LoadVars = new LoadVars();
    result_lv.onLoad = function(success:Boolean) {
    if (success) {
    firstName = result_lv.firstName;
    } else {
    firstName = "Error connecting to server.";
    }
    };
    var send_lv:LoadVars = new LoadVars();
    send_lv.myrecord = myrecord.text;
    send_lv.send("dbphone0.asp", "POST");
    };
    submit_button.addEventListener("click", submitListener);

    I have played with it for hours trying to use this.firstName or firstName.text so on and so on the debugger doesn't seem to work (remote debugging with the activex plugin does nothing) the internal one doesn't hit the database to pull the info.

    PLEASE HELP!!!!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    77
    Not 100% sure what it is you're tryin to achieve and without seing the asp code can't be sure where the problem lies. I have noticed one possible error with the query you're sending to the asp file. try:

    send_lv.Record = myrecord.text
    www.ugonna-nwosu.com
    If at first you don't succeed... Try not to look suprised.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    ugoDesigns - During my testing I changed the parameter name in the actionscript and in the ASP file to myrecord, so the two values are correct in the above examples. I just need to know why the values will post to a blank IE window (using send) but not to the current window (using saveandload).

    Thanks for responding!

  4. #4
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    the problem could be due to scope of the variables
    does this produce the correct result ??
    Code:
    var submitListener:Object = new Object();
    submitListener.click = function(evt:Object) {
    getResults();
    };
    
    submit_button.addEventListener("click", submitListener);
    
    function getResults(){
    lv= new LoadVars();
    lv.myrecord = _root.myrecord.text;
    lv.onLoad = function() {
    firstName = result_lv.firstName; trace(firstName);
    };
    lv.sendAndLoad("dbphone0.asp", lv, "POST");
    };

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    a_modified_dog -

    Sorry, but it didn't work. I even tried taking out the andload and the ,lv before the post just to make it a send and that didn't even load the results in a new IE window. It did nothing when i clicked the button.

    Thanks for the help though!

  6. #6
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    try using a simple button (not a Button component as is indicated by your code)

    on(release){
    getResults();
    }

    any results ??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center