A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] "for" loop killing me

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    20

    resolved [RESOLVED] "for" loop killing me

    Greetings all

    I need some fresh eyes to look at this code because no matter how many examples or tutorials or posts I look at, it seems right. Trouble is I'm more into graphics and there are no programmers in my department. ie. WHAT the heck little stupid thing am I doing wrong ?

    PHP Code:
    _global.medtype1 "0";
    _global.meddisc1 "";
    _global.medtype2 "0";
    _global.meddisc2 "";
    _global.medtype3 "0";
    _global.meddisc3 "";
    _global.medtype4 "0";
    _global.meddisc4 "";
    _global.medtype5 "0";
    _global.meddisc5 "";
    _global.medtype6 "0";
    _global.meddisc6 "";
    _global.medtype7 "0";
    _global.meddisc7 "";
    _global.medtype8 "0";
    _global.meddisc8 "";

    for (var 
    item_counter=1item_counter<9item_counter++) {
        if (
    _global.medtype[item_counter] = "0") {
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    _global.medtype[item_counter] = "1") {
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible true;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    _global.medtype[item_counter] = "2") {
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible true;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    _global.medtype[item_counter] = "3") {
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible true;
        }
    _root.medlist.medtext[item_counter] = _global.meddisc[item_counter]

    Nothing hides and every loop seems to see the if statements as true. Mehaps' it's the way I'm addressing the objects.

    <sigh> Thanks to any one who can whack me over the head with the right answer.
    Last edited by DarkWisdom; 09-06-2007 at 09:16 AM. Reason: Code edited
    Simply not, those bodies must have been dumped on my front lawn and what blood soaked axe under my bed are you talking about??

  2. #2
    :
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3,518
    In all the if statements, change the "=" to "==".
    A single equal sign is for assignment, double is for comparision.
    Code:
    if (_global.medtype[item_counter] == "0") {

  3. #3
    When in doubt ask Eager Beaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    911
    So simple! LOL
    <signature removed by admin>

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    20

    Ok that's a stepforward....

    Now I've changed the code to the following :

    PHP Code:
    _global.medtype1 "0";
    _global.meddisc1 "";
    _global.medtype2 "0";
    _global.meddisc2 "";
    _global.medtype3 "0";
    _global.meddisc3 "";
    _global.medtype4 "0";
    _global.meddisc4 "";
    _global.medtype5 "0";
    _global.meddisc5 "";
    _global.medtype6 "0";
    _global.meddisc6 "";
    _global.medtype7 "0";
    _global.meddisc7 "";
    _global.medtype8 "0";
    _global.meddisc8 "";

    for (var 
    item_counter=1item_counter<9item_counter++) {
    medtypechecker _global.medtype[item_counter];
        if (
    medtypechecker == "0") {
            
    this.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    this.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    this.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    medtypechecker == "1") {
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible true;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    medtypechecker == "2") {
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible true;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    medtypechecker == "3") {
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    _root.medlist.medgfx[item_counter].medtypespoon._visible true;
        }
    _root.medlist.medtext[item_counter] = _global.meddisc[item_counter]

    The interesting thing is that the variable "medtypechecker" stays undefined. I see many examples using the [item_counter] variable to define a variable name. The code now jumps from one "if" to the next treating them all as false.
    Last edited by DarkWisdom; 09-06-2007 at 10:09 AM. Reason: Edited code again
    Simply not, those bodies must have been dumped on my front lawn and what blood soaked axe under my bed are you talking about??

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    20
    I have even tried to set "medtypechecker" as a global and to "0" but as soon as the code :
    medtypechecker = _global.medtype[item_counter];
    runs, it becomes undefined. believe me, I'm not just waiting for an answer, but I do run out of ideas for direction.
    Simply not, those bodies must have been dumped on my front lawn and what blood soaked axe under my bed are you talking about??

  6. #6
    :
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3,518
    Code:
    medtypechecker = _global["medtype"+item_counter];

  7. #7
    Senior Member Alluvian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    967
    medtypechecker = _global.medtype[item_counter];

    The line above is looking for an ARRAY called "medtype", then the value of the array at index "item_counter".

    You do not have an array defined anywhere.

    Instead you have simple variables like
    medtype1
    medtype2
    etc...

    The way the above code is written, there is also a LOT of code for very little being done.

    Instead of fixing up what you have written, do you mind me asking you what you are trying to do? That way we could maybe supply some example code that would make your life easier.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    20
    Firstly, dawsonk, Thanks. <grin> You keep steering me in the right direction.

    Then, Alluvian, uuhhh well. This is an educational medical situation builder. I'm building up a list of medicine they have in a chronic pain clinic in a certain situation. The reason for all the variables is to be able to build many scenarios with as little work later as possible. I figure that if this endeavor is successful then I could move this over to reading the variables from a text file that the "not-very-computer-literate" lecturers can just edit. I built a multi-choice question that also reads from variables. Even the parients details (age, gender, trouble etc.) are dumped into text fields.

    ... sorry, rambling a bit. I want to hide the images of the medicine that it isn't ie. pills, liquid or injection (and perhaps more later) Then the person can click on an icon on the top to see which medicines are avaliable to them at any point in the "simulation"

    That's about it ....
    Simply not, those bodies must have been dumped on my front lawn and what blood soaked axe under my bed are you talking about??

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    20

    The answer ... it seems.

    Ok ... thanks, (I'm sure I'll be back) but the array that you pointed out seemed to be the culprate. The help files don't really show how to handle any thing but arrays it seems. The following code worked for me, for any one else in the future looking for this type of answer :

    PHP Code:
    _global.medtype1 "0";
    _global.meddisc1 "";
    _global.medtype2 "1";
    _global.meddisc2 "";
    _global.medtype3 "2";
    _global.meddisc3 "";
    _global.medtype4 "3";
    _global.meddisc4 "";
    _global.medtype5 "0";
    _global.meddisc5 "";
    _global.medtype6 "0";
    _global.meddisc6 "";
    _global.medtype7 "0";
    _global.meddisc7 "";
    _global.medtype8 "0";
    _global.meddisc8 "";

    for (var 
    item_counter:Number=1item_counter<9item_counter++) {
    medtypechecker _global["medtype"+item_counter];
        if (
    medtypechecker == "0") {
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    medtypechecker == "1") {
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypeampule._visible true;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    medtypechecker == "2") {
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypepill._visible true;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypespoon._visible false;
        }
        if (
    medtypechecker == "3") {
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypeampule._visible false;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypepill._visible false;
            
    this.medlist["medgfx"+item_counter].medtypespoon._visible true;
        }
    _root.medlist.medtext[item_counter] = _global.meddisc[item_counter]

    Simply not, those bodies must have been dumped on my front lawn and what blood soaked axe under my bed are you talking about??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center