A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: [CS3] When image loads in, part of it is gray! Why?

  1. #1
    Flash Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    105

    [CS3] When image loads in, part of it is gray! Why?

    hey guys,
    right - take a look at http://copperimage.com - when i view it, sometimes one or two of the pictures look like they aren't fully loaded, because the rest of the image (mostly like half of it is missing), is filled in by gray (or grey?).. does anybody know why this happens?
    christian

  2. #2
    Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    -
    Posts
    4,756
    not seeing that behaviour at all- perhaps re check

    if you get strange jpegs in flash perhaps because:
    - has CMYK channels
    - has greyscale channel only

  3. #3
    Flash Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    105
    hmm.. thanks. the client of the site isn't getting it either - maybe it's just me and my crappy dell laptop, but i thought that reason pretty unreasonable, so i'm trying to find a solid reason. most of those images are very likely to be greyscale channel only... thanks,
    christian

  4. #4
    Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    -
    Posts
    4,756
    at least I know that flash can´t handle CMYK jpgg´s so make sure that´s not the case

  5. #5
    Flash Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    105
    thanks, i'm gonna contact the client about it.

  6. #6
    Bearded (M|G)od MyFriendIsATaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Awesomeville.
    Posts
    3,046
    Make sure they are nor progressive scan jpegs too. But again, I'm not seeing the issue either. Can you post a screenshot of what you are seeing?

  7. #7
    Flash Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    105
    funny enough - it's not doing it now, but i get the feeling this is because they are fully loaded now. thanks for the advice taco.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    14,141
    i get the feeling this is because they are fully loaded now
    not the case. If they aren't fully loaded, you don't see them, period.

    gparis

  9. #9
    Flash Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    105
    well, yeah, i know gparis, that's what flash does. i know. but the thing is. the bottom half of the image was grey. and then i went directly to the image in my browser, and it came up immediately with the first half and then loaded the bottom half. so... that's why i think that.

  10. #10
    Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    -
    Posts
    4,756
    perhaps empty the browser cache?

  11. #11
    Flash Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    105
    tried that. hehe

  12. #12
    Bearded (M|G)od MyFriendIsATaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Awesomeville.
    Posts
    3,046
    it really sounds like they are progressive scan jpgs.

    Post up one of the images causing a problem, i'll let you know if its progressive scan or not.

  13. #13
    Flash Developer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    105
    here's a link to the image. http://copperimage.com/images/image5.jpg
    how can you tell if it's progressive scan? is it when you see it progressive filling up the height as it goes down as it loads? just a wild guess, hehe. thanks.
    christian

  14. #14
    Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    -
    Posts
    4,756
    I always that that the flash player would fail at all loading progressive jpeg images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center