dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Zinc versus SWF Studio

Zinc versus SWF Studio

Hi guys,

I am in the midst of evaluating Zinc and SWF Studio for a Desktop Application project.

As I have never used either before, I would be glad if some one could provide an insight into each and give me your views on which SWF2EXE application is better in terms of reliability and features.

I have seen SWF Studio's website and noted that it seems to be Vista OS ready. On the other hand, Zinc does not have much information regarding the Vista OS. Is there any reason why?

Thanks in advance for anyone who can provide some views on the above two applications.

Regards,
    ellils

Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Let me take my moderator hat off for a moment and give you my completely biased opinion. Actually everyone's opinion about which product is better will be biased, I'm just going to be honest about it up front

If you want to get a good feel for the reliabilty then I'd suggest you check out the support forums for both products. Hang out with people who are using each product on a daily basis and see what they're saying. People definitely aren't shy about complaining about problems with specific features, reliability, support or anything else.

Do a search for "access violation" in the Zinc forums if you have a few hours to kill. Then try the same search in our forums

Vista support in SWF Studio is stable and has been for a while. According to their FAQs, Zinc doesn't support screensavers under Vista yet. I think that's the only Vista related limitation they've officially acknowledged. Mystery ~sw1.dat files appearing in the startup folder is not officially acknowledged (I guess because it happens on all operating systems).

SWF Studio doesn't support multiple windows or Mac applications but aside from that, feature for feature both products seem to stack up pretty much the same.