dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: robot that walks and stuff

  1. #1
    Custom User Title Incrue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    974

    robot that walks and stuff

    http://img259.imageshack.us/i/fastrobot.swf/

    Walk with wasd
    Thats the stuff i made when trying to make a tile engine in as3
    But im not gonna do this anymore

  2. #2
    Yes we can tomsamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Team Titan Secret Lair
    Posts
    4,666
    I quite like your art style because its very unique. Does the background has smoothing turned off?
    At first i thought the robot could walk faster but somehow it gives him a certain massive feel
    Sad you don´t develop it further anymore.

  3. #3
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,379
    Why not? I really like it! A few things I could suggest though...

    As tom suggested, the robot moving a bit faster might help. Nothing major, but a couple extra pixels per second might be nice. If I'm not mistaken, it feels like the walk animation doesn't match the speed he's moving.

    Also as tom suggested, the background has a bit of a pixelation problem as I move or jump.

    On the topic of jumping, I noticed that if I stand in a corridor that is just wide enough to fit in, I can hold down the jump button and repeatedly move about 2 pixels. I would have a check in place to see if you can even jump beyond a certain point. (When I held down the jump button, I lost some fps but not too much.)

    You should definitely continue working on this though. I can see it being something great!
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  4. #4
    Custom User Title Incrue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    974
    Well, thanks guys, the problem is this engine has some bugs and dont have slopes and now i want slopes and im gonna remake this whole stuff.Again.

  5. #5
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,379
    How did you build the engine? Surely slopes couldn't be that hard to implement? I mean, typically when you build a tile engine, you start with the simple square tiles and work your way to more difficult ones like slopes with varying angles and such. Either way, I hope you do rewrite this. Good stuff.
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  6. #6
    Custom User Title Incrue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    974
    Its based on tonypa tutorials, the difference is that each tile is a bitmap, when its time to change i just change the BitmapData reference on it

  7. #7
    Custom User Title Incrue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    974
    http://img686.imageshack.us/i/brokenintro.swf/
    That was suposed to be the intro for my other point'n click game
    For some reason i dont remember i decided to send all of that to the hell

  8. #8
    Yes we can tomsamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Team Titan Secret Lair
    Posts
    4,666
    that´s a bummer, would be cool if you finish em. Maybe do it in the way you feel most comfortable with so the creation process doesn´t get overly annoying.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center