A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: navi HELP!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    14

    navi HELP!!!

    Scenerio:
    My main navigation consist of 6 buttons (home, about, music, gallery, etc). These buttons, except "gallery" has timeline controls on the main stage that
    "on (release) {
    gotoAndStop (frame);
    }"

    "Gallery" is a dropdown menu (movie). In my dropdown menu movie I have 6 other buttons (portraits, landscapes, nature, etc). The buttons also has timeline controls that
    "on (release)
    {
    _root.link = 3;
    _root.play();
    }"

    And back on the mainstage the corresponding frames are labeled s1, s2, s3, etc. Then the frames right before the labeled frames has this actionscript
    "label = "s" + _root.link;
    gotoAndPlay(label);"

    Basically, when I click on one of the buttons from the dropdown menu, it should go to the corresponding frame.

    Problem:
    From the "homepage", when I click say "portrait" from the dropdown menu, it goes thru the other frames in between rather than going directly to the frame specified. So going from "homepage" to "portrait", I will see "about" and "music" before it stops on "portrait".

    I hope this is making sense. PLEASE HELP! Thank you.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    225
    Post up your .fla (strip it down if you want to first if you're worried) would be much easier to see exactly what's going on.

    There's obviously some issue with it not liking the _root.link part and just doing the play(); command, but until I see things properly I could really only speculate.
    Last edited by IanMX; 11-30-2007 at 11:43 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    14

    navi HELP!

    Oh yeah, no problem, thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by carlodavid66; 11-30-2007 at 11:45 AM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    225
    Gah, forget to mention I only have MX2004 here at the moment so if you can back save to that then repost and I'll check it through, if not then you'll just have to wait for someone else to help that isn't stuck in the dark ages like me :P

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    14
    I saved as flash 8. Not sure if that's the same, but here goes.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    14
    IanMX, would it help if I post the movie online so you can see how it's playing. I really appreciate you trying to help. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    225
    Sorry fella, I can't open it

    What happens if you substitute

    on (release)
    {
    _root.link = 3;
    _root.play();
    }

    with

    on (release)
    {
    _root.gotoAndPlay("s1");
    }

    and remove the then redundant 'link' code?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    14
    That's actually how I had it originally and I got the same results. So I tried a different method and came up with this one, which didn't solve the problem. If you'll be around a bit I can redo the fla file on a different computer that I have MX installed.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    225
    Well I'm about for another hour or so, it might just be worth waiting till some US members are about who might help without you going through the hassle of remaking.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    14
    thanks for trying!

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    225
    No probs sorry not in a position to help ya straight away :/

    I'm sure you'll get some proper help pretty soon :P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center