A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: help with scrolling gallery

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12

    help with scrolling gallery

    http://www.theprivategallery.com/exhib/NYbeige.html

    I'm supposed to make something like this...with Flash CS3.

    everything is all set, as in a strip with all the pictures nicely arranged, and all I need to know is how to make it scroll like the one in the link, as all the other tutorials are either autoscrolling or not for CS3.

    help!!

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    I followed the tutorial exactly but I'm getting 3 errors when I try to run:

    1046: Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant: myMask.
    1120: Access of undefined property myMC.
    1120: Access of undefined property myMC.

  4. #4
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    Did you give your movie clip an instance name of myMC ?



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    okay...that got rid of the 2 error messages...but 1046: Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant: myMask. still remains. how do I get that off?

  6. #6
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    Did you declare that one ( i mean, the variables ) ? Of if it's an instance name, make sure you have your movie clip named. If that's all done, then make sure that you have it on the same frame number as your code. If you declare it without having it on the stage ( on the same place where to code refers to it ) then you'll get an error ( i.e.: if you have your code on frame 1, and the myMask only appears on frame 2 then it will give you that error, meaning that it's not finding any myMask movie clip on compile time... ).



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by PlenaryCreation
    Did you declare that one ( i mean, the variables ) ? Of if it's an instance name, make sure you have your movie clip named. If that's all done, then make sure that you have it on the same frame number as your code. If you declare it without having it on the stage ( on the same place where to code refers to it ) then you'll get an error ( i.e.: if you have your code on frame 1, and the myMask only appears on frame 2 then it will give you that error, meaning that it's not finding any myMask movie clip on compile time... ).

    both myMask and the code appears in frame 1, and both the instance name and the object is myMask.

  8. #8
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    Post your file so that I can take a look.



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    this is the file, I have seriously no idea how to work it...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    um...help anyone?

  11. #11
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    In your library, you have myMask exported for actionscript ( linkage... ).
    Delete the linkage and it will work (don't export it for actionscript ).
    Last edited by fx.barrett; 01-30-2008 at 11:39 PM.



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  12. #12
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    PS: After that's done, you'll get another error, but since I have no idea what were you trying to do with the second line of code, I can't help.



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    yea...the 2nd line of code comes from the tutorial. I'm just following the tutorial and I get this error...

  14. #14
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    Ahh, I totally forgot about the tutorials. Anyways, to solve that mask problem simply unlink the symbol from the library ( don't export it for actionScript, or if you do, then don't use the same for the linkage as you did for the instance name ).



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    it should be invoking the init function from the script as stated by the tutorial. But for some reason it works in the tutorial sample but not with mine.

  16. #16
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    Well, I didn't see any init function in your file, did you declare it ?



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    but what about the null object refrence?

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    no but it's located in a script that I obtained from the tutorial

  19. #19
    trace("AKA: Biro Barna");
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    RO.Timişoara
    Posts
    1,403
    null object means that it does not exist. it may not be added to the stage at the point where you were trying to refer to it.



    | Windows MSN: birobarna [at] hotmail [dot] com | Skype: barna.biro |
    WebLog: http://blog.wisebisoft.com/ |
    | Software Developer / Flash & Flex Developer | Student ( Computer Science ) | Interested in: Sharing Knowledge |
    |
    Romanian Adobe Flash, Flex, AIR Forum: http://www.flashforum.ro/
    | By perseverance the snail reached the ark. |


  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    Strangely, all the objects are on that exact spot....argh...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center