dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Easy Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    140

    Easy Question

    I have 4 webpages that are individual .swf files. They all have menu buttons that allow you to cycle thru like I a normal website. The problem is now that I have this simple site. How do I establish one as the homepage that my server brings up as my site homepage.

    I know that this has to do with establishing an index file, but I don't know the particulars

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    95
    You are right. All you have to do is publish the "home" page as index.html. Now a further step could be to incorporate all the four pages into one SWF with each page in a frame.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    140
    What would be the benefit of each page on it's own, frame in one .swf?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    95
    It is easier to manage one file and when you load the one file for your site instead of one .swf for each page. It will save time for the user to load just one file that encompasses all pages.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    140
    So all need to do is to covert, my .swf to a MC symbol, by selecting all and hitting F8.

    Then I'll need to put a stop() on the frame, or on the MC, or both? So that the timeline stops.

    (each page .swf has a transition at the begginning and end, so if I'm reasoning right I will need to use GotoAndPlay statements??)

    Is this what you are getting at?

    Sorry I, m slow, lol

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    95
    I am not sure about converting them to SWF's as that really takes the convenience of having all the .fla in one file. As I am fairly new to Flash as well some of the nuiances are still to be found but here's what I'd do (others, if you have more input, that'd be great):

    • Create a new .fla file.
    • Create 4 key-frames (one for each page).
    • Name the frames you just created (yes you will need to use a gotoandplay()) for navigation purposes
    • Copy and paste the information that you have in each of your four individual .fla files into the frames created above
    • Again you are right, you need to put a stop() in the actionscript in each frame to stop it from playing the next frame

    That should about do it. Then you will have all information in one .fla file for ease of editing and then loading for the end user.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    140
    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center