dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Using Flex Builder - setting stage width/height

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11

    Using Flex Builder - setting stage width/height

    Hi there,

    I have recently started using Flex Builder for my Actionscrtipt 3 projects because it is has a much better text editor and is designed around the eclipse framework. However I am having trouble with what should be a simply task.

    Flex builder compiles a swf for me from my main application file which is just an .as file. I therefore cannot put a variable reference on my main timeline and pass it through to any of my classes(cannnot do this on main timeline):
    Code:
    var _stage:Stage = this;
    I can acess the stage in one of my classes in order to add a child but cannot set the width and height and Flex seems to automatically compile my swf at 550 * 400.
    Code:
    		public function PropShop(){
    			nav = new Navigation();
    			stage.scaleMode = "noScale"; //does work
    			stage.align = "B";//does work
    			stage.stageWidth = 990; //not working
    			stage.stageHeight = 720; //not working
    			stage.addChild(nav);//does work
    		}
    This is the constructor for my main application class where I would like to initially set the stage width and height. I'm pretty sure you cannot dynamically change the stage dimensions once the swf has been compiled but I don't know how to go about changing them beforehand.

    Hope you can help,

    Regards,

    Gareth.
    Last edited by gaffafoote; 03-17-2008 at 11:25 AM.

  2. #2
    You can do it using the SWF meta tag. It must be directly before your main class definition.

    code:

    [SWF(width="800", height="600", backgroundColor="#ffffff", frameRate="30")]



    http://blog.davr.org/actionscript3-q...properties.etc

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for this. Unfortunately I think this metatag might only work in a Flex project. I'm am running a Actionscript project in Flex Builder. Flex builder 3 is compiling a swf from my main-application file which is a .as file. Thus if i put your meta tag infront of the main class definition it errors.

    Does this make sense or am I entirely wrong?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11
    Apologies, this has worked. I was being a plank. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Senior Member rachil0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Columbus, OH.
    Posts
    465
    Also, mxmlc has command line parameters for setting many of the stage attributes (size, background color, framerate).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center