dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [CS3] loadMovie code problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    25

    [CS3] loadMovie code problems

    I tried getting help for this a few days back, but I dont think I worded my post well enough.

    My problem seems very minor and easy to fix.. so I'm just looking for some friendly advice. Excuse my knowledge of proper technical terms.

    I'm using loadMovie to bring in some external swfs into my main swf. But a lot of the coding inside these external swfs stops working when viewed/accessed from the main movie.

    for example:

    Here is a flash movie which uses loadMovie to bring in a swf with a button on it:

    http://ediblecastle.com/example/mainmovie.html

    There is a getUrl code on the button which doesnt work.

    If you access the external swf directly (http://ediblecastle.com/example/button.swf), the getUrl code works just fine.

    Could someone clear this up for me?

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Musical chair sumwungye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth, third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    287
    Could you include the code?

    Thanks!

    P.S. - Your first link's button goes to google.com for me, and the second link is broken...or, actually, it has an extra ) at the end.
    --SumWunGye

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    25
    yeah like sumwungye said. the 2nd link should be:
    http://ediblecastle.com/example/button.swf

    that's strange that the button on the first link works for you... it doesn't work for me... why would this be?


    the code for the loadMovie is:

    this.loadMovie("http://www.ediblecastle.com/example/button.swf");\0


    and\0\0\0HBHBr the button is:

    on (release) {
    getURL("http://www.google.com");

    }
    \0

    So standard stuff.

    Does the button on the first link work for everyone else to

  4. #4
    Musical chair sumwungye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth, third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    287
    Maybe the browser you're using is being dumb. I'm using Firefox.

    P.S. - They both bring me to Google.com
    --SumWunGye

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    8
    If you put the www's in the link (http://www.ediblecastle.com/example/mainmovie.html) the button will work since that is how the link is written on the button's AS code. This is because of the <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" /> parameter in the html. If you change "sameDomain" to "always" the link should work whether the www's are used or not.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    25
    ahh! wow, thanks hupsohl!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center