A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: [F9/AS3] XML vs XMLList?

[F9/AS3] XML vs XMLList?

This is my first time reading XML data into flash, and I am having problems with Flash casting some of my nodes(?) as XMLList with length 1, instead of just using a (non-array) XML object.

Here's an (incomplete) snippet that shows part of the problem:

PHP Code:
    - <map>
    - <
    sectors>
      <
    size>4</size
    - <
    sector>
    - <
    cell>
    - <
    vertices>
      <
    size>15</size
    - <
    vertex>
      <
    x>2.486322188449848</x
      <
    y>-0.604863221884498</y
    Imagine f() is a function that accepts an XML as an input. A map contains many sectors, so I agree that dereferencing a sector requires a "[]" operator:

Code:
    f(map.sectors.sector[0])
    However, each sector has one cell so expect that I can derefence it as a single node:

Code:
    f(map.sectors.sector[0].cell)
    This throws a runtime error (cannot cast convert). Apparently, this chain of dereferences yields an XMLList, not an XML. When I do:

Code:
    f(map.sectors.sector[0].cell[0])
    It works properly. It doesn't make sense to me that cell should be promoted from an XML to an XMLList, because there's only one of them within each pair of <sector></sector> tags. This is my first xml experience, so maybe I don't understand how it works yet.

Here's the complete .xml file, from which the snippet was taken. Is it well formed? Can you tell an obvious reason that cell is being recognized as a list with 1 element, instead of a node that stands alone?
    Attached Files Attached Files

Student
    I am more the XML crack when it comes to AS1/2, AS3 is way more the beast when it comes to xml so I recently just scrapped the surface

Imagine f() is a function that accepts an XML as an input
    you can however only return snippets/nodes of that XML object as XMLList type.