A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting hold of Photoshop or wait?

Getting hold of Photoshop or wait?

I need to, unusually for me, do some print work in the next week or so and Fireworks isn't up to the job of understanding CMYK. So I went to download the trial of Photoshop, but Adobe have stopped all trials for June, they'll be back in July.

Here's the options.

1. Try and find the trial somewhere else and use it. Considering that the last time I used Photoshop was CS2, that's really how often I use it. I download it, use it a bit and then run back to Fireworks crying because it's scary.

2. Buy a student edition of Photoshop. I'm still a student for one more year, so this would be a great time to get it discounted, so...

2a. Buy CS3 now.

2b. Wait until CS4 - soonish?

But if I go for 2b, it doesn't solve my problem of getting print work done in the next two weeks.

So does anybody know of a place I can download a trial of Photoshop that isn't Adobe? If that's allowed...
    Or, is there a decent app I can use now that handles print work well and knows what CMYK is?

FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Adobe still has the CS2 trial on their website. Would that work?
    Jason L. Wright
    I'm not that hard to imitate. Just make some random negative claim at Apple or anything else for that matter and then have nothing to back it up.

Gimp?

Wait... CS4 comes out in October and I don't think Adobe gives free upgraded for more than (after purchase) 60 days for upgrades if you buy before they update.

Buy the CS3 Student Edition for crazy cheap - in the US, it's only $99 USD or something cheap, follow the tutorials, get this book for free, and stop your crying. Photoshop is not hard. Especially if you're somewhat (somehow) used to Fireworks. Their interfaces are almost the same... "almost".

Oh... and don't use Photoshop Academic Edition for pay-for jobs, btw.