dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

to learn as2 or as3 - please advice

Hello everybody,

I'm really bad on ActionScript, but now I decided to make it my top priority and to learn it. I'm a little bit confused though - should I learn as2 or as3?!?

Any advice will be appreciated.

p.s.: I'm posting this request in both as2 and as3 forums.
    Sorry if this is wrong in some way, I'm new to flashkit too

hi and welcome

go 3 for sure, it's superior in every way and way different than all earlier versions so if you went v2 instead you'd basically have to start from scratch to go 3 later.
    Evolve Designs Interactive Media
    the natural selection

whats the main diff

whats the main diff
    http://gskinner.com/talks/as3workshop/

gparis

i resisted AS3 for a long time, until finally i had to (a customer had an existing project in 3). i've spent about 6 months now exclusively in 3, and am now more comfortable with it than 2. it has some very attractive advantages:

1. regular expressions
    2. robust bitmap support, incl. dynamic bitmaps
    3. photoshop-esque features such as blendMode
    4. speed. in every operation i've tried (a lot), 3's faster than 2, often more than twice as fast - adobe claims 10x in certain situations (which i don't doubt), but this is a little misleading i think - code execution is FAST - and the new VM is undeniably a lot faster, but when the difference 250ms versus 500ms, it sounds significant but the net savings is a quarter of a second (virtually imperceptible).

however, 2 has a couple things i really miss, specifically:

1. ability to extend Functions (via prototyping), which is impossible in 3 (if i'm wrong about this, i'd be happy to find that out)
    2. addProperty as an in-line feature (you can recreate a lot of the same functionality in 3 using subclasses, but it's nice being able to perform this kind of thing dynamically once in a while)