dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: General website layout...opinions?

General website layout...opinions?

Aside from being a teacher, I do a bit of web/graphic design on the side. It's not much, and I've published a few of my own websites in the past, but I've since gone without a real portfolio site for quite some time. I came up with this design recently, and granted it's only a mock layout I designed in PS, but it gives you an idea of what the site might look like. I'm curious to hear your thoughts on this. As for me, I'm fairly happy with it, but I'm not sure I like the approach I'm taking. I'm wondering if it might be better to just base the site solely as a portfolio. For instance, I had in mind just making the main page similar in design, but showcasing all of my work (in scrollable thumbnail format), with a link to contact me, and a link for work skills/resume. I'm not sure I really want to reflect the image of a formal "business." Rather, maybe I should focus on showcasing just my work as a personal portfolio. What are your thoughts guys?

Anyways, here's the link to the image of the layout. I'm linking it, instead of embedding since it's quite large. Thanks for looking.

http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/e...een_simple.jpg

It's a nice, clean layout that can work. However, you have to take some things into consideration before going with that layout. What is your site about and who is your audience.

The layout feels like those templates you can buy online. While there is nothing necessarily wrong with that, you have to make sure that your layout will be able to accommodate your text and not just look like a container for your content. Good luck and I hope everything turns out to your liking.

Ryan Wilson
    Creative Director
    3rd Lounge Inc
    http://www.3rdlounge.com