dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Not sure where to start...Silverlight to Flash

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Not sure where to start...Silverlight to Flash

    Hi, I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I'm trying to convert my webpage from MSFT's Silverlight to Flash, but I don't even know where to start. What do I download to code in flash? I don't even know that. LOL. Any info or help would be appreciated.

    Let's get to the nitty gritty though. My page is currently at:
    http://dbai.myfreewebs.net
    (to flip the pages, use the dog-earred pages, click & drag, or just use the thumbnails menu below).

    you may need to download some stuff to see it because it's coded using silverlight. you can download it at silverlight.net

    I'm hoping to convert what is shown there into a Flash version. not sure if flash has all the same capabilities, but I would like to make it as close to this version as possible. (I'll be checking this thread constantly for updates!)

    THANKS!

  2. #2
    Intermediate Game Dev pseudobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    561
    Why do you need to do that?
    Needs an update...

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5
    Oh, i'm trying to get ready for an interview and kind of learn some Flash in the process.

  4. #4
    Intermediate Game Dev pseudobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    561
    What do I download to code in flash
    Nothing. To code, you simply need to press F9 (windows) or alt+F9 (Mac).
    Depending on your version of flash, you will either code in AS 1 (actionscript 1), AS 2 or As3.

    If you put in some effort, you can definitely make the same thing in flash. One thing to be aware of though is that sometimes Flash is slower then silverlight, and sometimes the other way around.

    First of, what exactly do you want to remake first?
    I'll try and help you out with it then.
    And please let me know of the version of flash you are using.
    Thank you.
    Needs an update...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5
    how can i find out which version i have of flash?

    o btw, thanks for helping me out.

    should i download macromedia flash cs4 pro? is that what i should be using?

    i guess i'd like to start off with the first page and how i can make it so the reader can "turn" the page.

  6. #6
    Intermediate Game Dev pseudobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    561
    ^Umm, you need a version of flash that you bought.Ya know, it costs $800...
    Needs an update...

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5
    oh ok, i'll be using the trial version of cs4 pro. i have 30 days ^^

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5
    for the trial version that is...(previous post)

    ummm, i'm a little confused about the F9....what exactly do you mean by that? do i press it in windows or in cs4?

  9. #9
    Intermediate Game Dev pseudobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    561
    ^Ouch.
    No offense, but it is very very highly likely that you cannot get anything done by the time of the interview. What I would recommend for you is looking for a few beginner flash tutorials, as they usually have pictures & well written text.

    Good luck.
    Needs an update...

  10. #10
    Intermediate Game Dev pseudobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    561
    And to get your question answered, click on the first frame of the timeline, and then press F9.
    Needs an update...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center