A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: checking for dynamic text and performing action

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    83

    Question checking for dynamic text and performing action

    Hi I need some help with this code.

    I have this button, who's text is loaded dynamically, the button text is inside an mc, I need for the dynamic text's mc to be invisible when no dynamic text is loaded and visible when text is loaded.

    Currently the button on its visible state sits on frame label "on" and I've created another frame labeled "off", I just don't know how to put together the action to make the frame switch to "off" when no dynamic text is loaded to make the button invisible.

    any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    83
    I tried doing this

    Code:
    if (_root.buttons.bt1.btn1mc.text1 == "") {
    	_root.buttons.bt1.gotoAndStop("on");	
    	} else {
           stop();
    	}
    but it didn't work.

    any thoughts?

  3. #3
    Senior Member vinayak.kadam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    gotoAndPlay("Pune");
    Posts
    831
    Can I please request you to upload the FLA ? What you are telling is quite understood but replicating it here and then advising you a solution wud be time consuming task. If possible please upload your FLA here.
    As ever,
    Vinayak Kadam

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    83
    Hi vinayak

    and thank you for offering to help my friend, the thing is thing is that the flash file works with php and i don't think you'll be able to view it.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    83
    here is a sample fla

    thanks for trying to help me.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Senior Member vinayak.kadam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    gotoAndPlay("Pune");
    Posts
    831
    sorry there,

    No links from my side.. Everything is so dynamic that I need much more assistance. May god help you. Try your best.
    As ever,
    Vinayak Kadam

  7. #7
    Senior Member vinayak.kadam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    gotoAndPlay("Pune");
    Posts
    831
    Hey I just realized that you are loading the text in dynamic text boxes using loadvariablesNum, and if thats the case then I would advise you to read the documentation/help about movieClip.onData event.

    In short, onData event occurs when movie clip recieves data requested through loadvariables methods.

    Hope this helps you.
    As ever,
    Vinayak Kadam

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    83
    Thank you my friend I'll see what I can do.

    God bless to you too

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center