A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What version of flash lets you merge layers?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    21

    What version of flash lets you merge layers?

    Hello! Maybe one of you gents can answer this question: I took an elective course in Flash years ago, and I've recently downloaded the trial version of Flash MX 2004 to try it out again. I found one thing to be really annoying in this version: You can't merge layers! I remember this feature being present in whatever version I was using before. Probably MX. Anyway, I was wondering if maybe Flash8 or CS3 has this feature.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Open http://www.toonmonkey.com/extensions.html and scroll down to "Merge Layers". Hopefully this is what you're looking for.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    21
    Thanks Rob, but what am I supposed to do with this .mxp file?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    21
    Thanks Rob, but what am I supposed to do with this .mxp file?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    It's basically like a plugin. Load it with your Extension Manager, restart Flash, and then you should have the ability to merge layers.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    21
    maybe I can't because this is the trial version of flash?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Could be, not sure. What version of Extension Manager do you have?
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  8. #8
    Teacosy is coming ranoka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    123
    I don't remember there ever being a merge layer feature.

    You could just copy all, and then paste them in place. That way they would be on the same layer. Lock any layers you don't want merged

    Repeat for each keyframe.

    I think that's all that extension does, but it automates it. So if you have lots of keyframes it would be useful, otherwise there isn't much problem.

    Why do you want to merge frames? In most cases it's best to have each symbol / object on it's own layer...

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    21
    1.6. It says I require version 2004 of Flash MX. I think I just have MX. Oh well, at least I know about this for the future, when/if I actually buy flash. Are you kidding? merging layers is a useful feature! Sometimes its easier when you're drawing something detailed to start out on different layers & then merge them after.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    What about just downloading a newer version of flash? Like Flash 8? All there major releases have had trial versions.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center