A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: IF / Else help for matching game

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9

    IF / Else help for matching game

    Hi guys,

    I'm a real Flash noob. Trying to make a game where you click a box and it disappears and reveals content below it for a matching game where you find like flags (like US flag, Italian, etc) and I am trying to work with IF/Else in Flash CS3, but I haven't done code since Flash MX and I'm lost in the newer UI.

    Anyway, I'm working in Actionscript 2.0 because 3.0 still scares me and here is my code:


    on (press) {
    if (thecount = 0){
    _root.A1._visible=false;
    set (_root.thecount, 1);
    } else if (thecount = 1){
    _root.A1._visible=false;
    set (_root.thecount, 2);
    } else {
    stop();
    }
    }



    I have a series of "rectangle covers" on top of flag graphics. What I want to happen with the code above is to have it so when the variable thecount is 0 or 1, a mouse click will turn a rectangle cover invisible to show a flag, and if thecount is anything else, I don't want anything to happen when the user clicks on the rectangle cover.

    I found out that I needed (or maybe I don't) the _root for the visible code, but I can't figure out how to get the above IF/Else right. The above code right now makes the rectangle cover invisible (A1) invisible no matter what thecount equals.

    Thanks for any help!!! Also i'm sorry i don't know the UBB to get the code above looking nicer :/
    Last edited by G.v.P; 03-22-2009 at 09:01 AM.

  2. #2
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    usual noob mistake
    == needed for making a comparison -

    if (thecount == 0){
    .....
    } else if (thecount == 1){

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by a_modified_dog View Post
    usual noob mistake
    == needed for making a comparison -

    if (thecount == 0){
    .....
    } else if (thecount == 1){


    Well, I actually tried that :/ but when I change = to == nothing happens at all when i click on the rectangle cover (A1). Maybe I need to specify the target differently...A1 is a movie clip with the actionscript on it so when you click it, it should disappear if the "thecount" variable is correct. Hmmm.

  4. #4
    |-'|-'|
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    273
    Code:
    on (press) {
      if (_root.thecount == 0){
        _root.A1._visible=false;
        _root.thecount = 1;
      } else if (_root.thecount == 1){
        _root.A1._visible=false;
        _root.thecount = 2;
      } else {
        stop();
      }
    }

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9
    :/ still not working I wonder what I am doing wrong...

    ahhhh ha! i got it! thanks so much guys i had to make sure thecount was defined in code, set = 0 by default (I thought I could just enter 0 in the field to define it as default)
    Last edited by G.v.P; 03-29-2009 at 01:55 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center