dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Importing maya/3ds max 3D models into flash CS4

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6

    Importing maya/3ds max 3D models into flash CS4

    Hi, I hope someone can help me answer whether or not you can import 3D models from either 3Ds max or Maya into flash CS4. If so what file format do you have to export them as??

    If not what 3D software can you use to export models into flash cs4? I heard swift 3D can but I'm not sure how to use that software so would it be possible to export models from maya/max into swift and then into flash cs4?

    David

  2. #2
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    Sorry for not seeing this earlier; however directly into Flash, a *.3ds or *.max or *.ma file format is not possible.

    You can use *.dae exported from the aforementioned programs using Papervision or Away3D. That would require heavy AS3. Or you could use something like Swift3D MAX to render to *.swf. That's typically how I do it.

    There were some workarounds to get *.3ds into Flash directly, but the limitations of 64k faces is quite prohibitive.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mount Joy, Pa
    Posts
    117
    I think its kinda DUMB that you can import 3d objects in Photoshop CS4 Extended but Flash CS4 you can't.

  4. #4
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    Quote Originally Posted by sunReedr View Post
    I think its kinda DUMB that you can import 3d objects in Photoshop CS4 Extended but Flash CS4 you can't.
    100% agreed. But the fact that you can take those 3D objects into After Effects too should be considered.

    Converting the 3D meshes/vertices to Flash might be limited; however you'd think that FP 10 would have made that easier.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    60
    Well, I wish the codeless implimentation recently of 3d was better... that is, with z-sorting, so that you wouldn't have to code at all.
    That's it, I'm fed up with having my barely-legal signatures criticized.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks I'm using swift 3d now

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    77
    AS3 Geom Class Exporter for 3ds max to PV3D, Sandy and Away3D

    http://seraf.mediabox.fr/showcase/as...s-max-english/

    http://seraf.mediabox.fr/datas/swf/a...omExporter.zip

    Plus a tutorial on how to use it
    http://the.fontvir.us/b10g/?id=92
    www.ugonna-nwosu.com
    If at first you don't succeed... Try not to look suprised.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center