A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: A new and better way to animate?

A new and better way to animate?

So I'm a long time flash Dev and Design guy I do it all AS front end projectors XML feeds all that good stuff. But the one thing that almost all of my project have in common is that require animation is some from.

I've been playing with CS4. And I got to say a few gimmicky tools aside I have to say its a BIG let down. crashes a lot (I have to save my work every 5 min - its like I'm in a time warp back with Flash5)

Now I don't want to be the guy that speaks out of ingornace but I have to say the thing I'm most disturbed about and not liking in the new motion editor. Like all Abode release I'm very sure that in CS5 the normal tween will be phase out in a effort to make it "Easier" on the final user (Remember a little program named ImageReady) I can't get JACK done with this thing. I mean maybe I'm not up to speed with all it can do but I think its pretty much the AE time line hits flash...poorly. Lots of bugs using curve points in a NIGHTMARE and is it just me or is this thing a hog on screen space its like I have it open and about 1/3 of my flash screen is either gone or covered up. Once again this all come down to adobe bulding there updates in a silo. Dev Builds the program with nothing more then notes from Designers and Front and and then when it comes time to product test every last trick in the book is used to look the other way and explain thing are the way they are.

I don't know I just had to rant a project that would have taken me about 30 min with the old tween system took me about 4 dealing with this thing.

JT

Bearded (M|G)od MyFriendIsATaco's Avatar
    I seriously feel bad for anyone who has to use the Flash IDE. It is absolutely terrible. Luckily I'm a programmer and can stay out of it most of the time.