A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Top-View racing game engine

Top-View racing game engine

Hi guys!

I am a 10+ years exp web designer, front end developer.

Right now I have planned some interesting project to develop on my own.
    It would be based on flash racing game.

I have just one "small" problem.
    I cannot find any nice and clean open source flash racing engine to start with.
    I am a web designer, so i am not able to do hardcore AS, but could do some small changes and could do hardcore graphics.
    Engine should include just essential key features. All graphics could be just a square boxes (or round boxes - as you like ), i would "dress" an engine up later...

Key features would be:
    Car. (always stands centered on x and y axis on swf).
    Racing track - when car is moving, racing track with its objects is actually moving, as car stands on its place - in a middle of swf object. (would be made of bunch of movieclips. each movieclip would have its individual weight (and design - bitmap), so when car hits it, it could reflect collision depending on its wight. All hitted elements would react, as it happens physically in real world.
    A point of finish line. When finish line is reached, time is stopped. Minutes, Seconds, miliseconds.

If anybody could help me with creating such an wireframe engine...
    I could offer to make outstanding graphics for created racing engine and we could both use that game as we find it best.
    I'd develop my planned site and could also include copyrights of who made game engine done.

If anybody could be interested, please drop a line here, I will provide you with my email via PM.

Any questions - you are very welcomed to ask them here!

Thanks in advance!
    Have a nice day!
    May The <b>Source</b> Be With You!

You probably need full physics engine for realistic car collisions. Box2D is popular open source Flash physics engine.

Hey, thanks! Did not know about Box2D! Will take a good look!