A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AS3 - how do i call a funtion on main timeline, from a different timeline

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20

    AS3 - how do i call a funtion on main timeline, from a different timeline

    so here's the function on main stage:

    function slideImage(btnNum:Number)
    {
    trace("scrolling image");
    trace(btnNum);

    var myTween2:Tween = new Tween(imageObjects, "x", Strong.easeOut, imageObjects.x, imageObjects.x - 600, 1.5, true);
    }


    and here's the code that wants to call this function in a another movie clip. I've attached this clip dynamicaly to the main stage as well.

    var btnNumber;

    this.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, gotoLink);

    function gotoLink(event:MouseEvent)
    {
    trace(btnNumber);
    slideImage(btnNumber);
    }


    How can i acess slideImage function on the main stage. in AS2 _root.slideImage(btnNumber); would work. How Would I do this in AS3?

    Apreciate your help. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Will moderate for beer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    6,801
    The quick and dirty way is a direct translation from your AS2 code:
    Code:
    MovieClip(root).slideImage(btnNumber);
    But it's better to avoid tight coupling like that. The usual methods of doing this are to either 1) pass in a reference to the function to call or the root movie to avoid traversing the displayList. or 2) dispatch an event from the child that the parent will listen for and act on accordingly.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    when I try MovieClip(root).slideImage(btnNumber); I get the error below.

    TypeError: Error #1034: Type Coercion failed: cannot convert flash.display::Stage@2f6cf99 to flash.display.MovieClip.

    how can i dispatch an event from the child?, Sorry I'm new to as3.


    Thanks

  4. #4
    Will moderate for beer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    6,801
    That's funky. root should be the document class, not the stage. Unless you added the child directly to the Stage?

    The dispatchEvent function will dispatch a new event that you can listen for in the main timeline. You can search this forum for examples.

    post the code you are using to load and add the child movie. Something there is odd.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20


    function createSlides(images:XML):void
    {

    stage.addChild(btnSm);
    }



    this is in maintimeline
    i'm adding the child by
    stage.addChild(btnSm);




    var btnNumber;

    this.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, gotoLink);

    function gotoLink(event:MouseEvent)
    {
    trace(btnNumber);
    slideImage(btnNumber);
    }


    this is in every instance of btnSm

    I think I added the child directly to the stage.
    Last edited by wraj; 07-15-2009 at 05:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Will moderate for beer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    6,801
    You did. Just remove the "stage." in "stage.addChild" so that it's just addChild or this.addChild. Or even root.addChild.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Hey Thank you very much, it works great. but I have a couple of questions

    1) Why do you say its not a good idea to use MovieClip(root).slideImage(btnNumber); ?

    2) where is addChild(someObj) or this.addChild(someObj) placing the objects?

    again thank you for your help.

  8. #8
    Will moderate for beer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    6,801
    When you use the displaylist to get objects of a certain type, you are conflating function and display. If you decided to put this movie in another, then root would change and your code would break. You might think that you can use parent instead, but then any change in the display hierarchy like inserting a container would break it. It is more robust, and cleaner, to separate logic from presentation.

    addChild(someObj) is exactly equivalent to this.addChild(someObj), and both of those add someObj as a display child to the object which calls that function. In your case, they add to the document instance, which is the same as root.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center