dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: non browser pop up

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    51

    non browser pop up

    Hello,

    I'm currently developing a cd-rom using flash, a section of it requires that I use a pop up to show image files. Now I have been through a number of tutorials dealing with this but they are all directed to browser pop ups, which is not functional for me.
    In the past I have used the linkage targeting and that does work but is not adequate for what I want, I would like the image to be called up into a new window similar to the way lightbox allows you to do so with js, but it also needs to have a print function on it to allow users to print the image off.

    Is this possible in a standalone? Does anyone know of a good resource for this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    Something like lightbox is going to require a browser. If you want this to look like lightbox then you can just load the image into a movie clip styled to look like what lightbox does. The "window" won't be able to appear bigger than your Flash window or outside it, but if you can live with that, the solution is pretty simple.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks for you help on this,

    Yes the method you explain is what I'm currently using, but ideally I'd like the images to appear in another window, if there is a method to do this by AS it would be good, otherwise I'll have to rethink how to call up the pics.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    I'll have to rethink how to call up the pics
    Start rethinking You could use an external image viewer, but the problem you're going to run into is how to send it the name of the image you want to view without hard coding all of them (you can't pass stuff out of Flash using fscommand EXEC).

    A fairly simple solution is to open a second projector and send it image file names and commands (like quit) using a Local Connection object. That's a 100% Flash solution.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks for the advice, that sounds like a solution, but I wouldn't have a clue on how to implement it.
    Is there a Tutorial on it that you can point me to.

    Can I ask what your thoughts are regarding Director as opposed to Flash for cd production and if I would be better off going down that route?

    Thanks again for your help

  6. #6
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    Local Connection: http://www.adobe.com/support/flash/a...ction_objects/

    Director is going to represent a pretty significant change of direction from Flash and the Xtra market isn't what it used to be. You'd be better off sticking with Flash IMHO.

    If you have the $ to buy Director you might want to consider a third party swf2exe tool that will greatly extend what you can do with Flash without breaking the bank.

    Here are some links to get you started...

    The best...

    SWF Studio http://www.northcode.com (my product)

    and the rest

    mProjector http://www.screentime.com
    SWFKit http://www.swfkit.com
    SWiSH Studio http://www.swishzone.com
    Jugglor http://www.jugglor.com
    Zinc http://www.multidmedia.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    51
    Thanks for you help on this.

    To be honest I don't like the idea of having to switch to Director, one it costs, two I haven't used it for eight years. The current version has an advantage for this project as it now incorporates 3d files which would be helpful for me. At the moment I'm bringing in separate rendered 3d sequences frame by frame in the flash time line. Its time consuming and a pain if anything needs to be re-done in the 3d file, but its working so far.

    I've looked into the Adobe help and I'll need to experiment with it to understand how it functions, hopefully I can figure it out.
    Do you have a Mac version of your software? It looks quite handy and I imagine would help me with cd-rom projects.

    Don't know if I'd be better to start a new thread on this, but thought I'd ask?
    I'm trying to link a movie with in a movie to a button click.

    I'm using
    _root.mc_holder.loadMovie("mov.swf");

    This obviously works fine, but I want to load a movie within an mc_holder in mov.swf

    Have tried to think of ways to do this:
    _root.mc_holder.loadMovie("mov.swf");
    mov_one.mc_body.loadMovie("mov-in-mov.swf");

    But obviously this ends up looking for mov_one on the stage not in mov.swf

    Sorry to bug you.
    Thanks again for you help.

  8. #8
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    The only solution I know of (aside from leaving the SWF external, which is what loadMovie is for) is to import the SWF to your stage and load the movie clip from there instead of using a SWF.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center