dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Flash fscommand exec alternative?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    227

    Flash fscommand exec alternative?

    Hey! I'm been bashing my head in the wall over this for the last days.
    I'm trying to make a movie library application to be used locally (solely by me). I was thinking of making a list of all the movie IMDb links in a textfile and load it in Flash along with a local file path to each movie. But since fscommand exec is such crapp, that won't work. Then I would have to make an insane amount of bat files (out of the question). This is what I've read anyway. So, I have now tried working with VB and C# to make the same project. But the programming is so different from, say AS and PHP, and would take ages to learn. Is there anything similar to AS that could do this?

    Or maybe someone has a suggestion to a clever workaround in Flash? But that's a wild one

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    If you grab http://www.northcode.com/misc/flashvb.zip you'll have a really old example of how to make Flash and VB talk. It's probably AS1 or AS2 but it works. I also posted some examples here a while back showing how to make Flash and VB talk via ExternalInterface in AS2/AS3 so if you dig a bit you should be able to find it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    227
    That's the most promising thing I've seen so far.

    Thanks a bunch

  4. #4
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    It's old so if you need something newer let me know and I'll see what I can come up with. The folks at MindFire Solutions also wrote a whitepaper (back in 2002) on this topic. Here's a link to the PDF version Macromedia Flash and VB: A potent combination.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    227
    Thanks dude, but I got it working at last. Had to install VB6 in order to get it working though

    You're a genius!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center