dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Publishing a projector no longer works

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21

    Publishing a projector no longer works

    I've been developing a fairly simple presentation in CS4, AS3, OSX, which runs as a standalone projector.

    Everything was working for a while, but now for no apparent reason, any file I publish as a projector starts the Flash Player app, but the projector does not appear or play.

    Older versions that I had already published will play correctly, but if I re-publish them they do not work any more.

    I have deleted my preferences, uninstalled and reinstalled Flash, but still have the same problem.

    Any ideas are desperately needed and appreciated!

  2. #2
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    It still creates an EXE but your content isn't in it? It could be a corrupt FLA. I'd try Save and Compact first. If that doesn't work then try copying everything to a new FLA while you can still edit it.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    Hey, thanks for the reply.

    I'm working on a Mac, so it's creating an OS X app instead of an .exe... but anyway, I've tried creating brand new Flash files (with just some text content for testing) and when published as a projector, same deal. It creates a file, file is around 12MB, but when double-clicked, the Flash Player app starts as usual, but nothing happens--nothing appears.

    I know it's not the Flash Player, because old files I've published work fine. But anything I publish now doesn't work... and I've also tried running the published files on another computer, and they don't work there either. It definitely seems to be something going wrong when publishing.

  4. #4
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    If you publish just the SWF does that work? Can you open the SWF in the standalone player after publishing it?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    Yes, the SWF works fine, in a browser or when opened in Flash Player...

  6. #6
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    When you open the SWF (just by double clicking on it) there should be an option under the File menu to "Create Projector". Can you try that? If the SWF plays then that should generate a working projector.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    Hmm, that option is grayed-out when I open my SWF... not sure this would carry over my navigation controls, even if it did work. This is a bummer!

  8. #8
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    If you want to send me one of the FLA files you're having problems with I'll publish it here and see if it's the FLA or something on your system. If it works I'll send you back the app so you can try it there.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5

    Publish Projector not working

    I am having the same problem. I am using OSX snowleopard, Flash CS3. It was working fine, then suddenly stopped working. When publishing to Mac projector, it opens the flash player then nothing happens. I tried clicking on the file it generated and again it opens flash player and nothing happens. I tried restarting and same problem.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    I don't know why this happens, and don't know a fix, but here's a workaround that someone sent me:

    1. publish your projector as usual, but also publish with a SWF file
    2. re-name the SWF file "movie.swf"
    3. control-click (right-click) the projector and choose "show package contents"
    4. move the "movie.swf" file into the "Resources" folder inside the package

    Now your projector should work. But, you'll have to do this same procedure every time you re-publish your files. Pain in the butt.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5
    Great. That worked. Thanks so much for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center