PHP User Warning: fetch_template() calls should be replaced by the vB_Template class. Template name: bbcode_highlight in ..../includes/functions.php on line 4197
rollover issues
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: rollover issues

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Angry rollover issues

    when i import my mc to a scene the rollover engages when i rollover the invisible blue box and not the image. any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    I take it that by "invisible blue box" you mean the "hit state" of a button. Sounds like you have code associated to the button and not the mc. Of course, by not seeing any code or examples then it's strictly just a guess.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    this is similar to what i have for all of the rollover mc. its not the hit state that i am referring to. Its the box that shows you how big the image is or the blue outline box you can adjust the size. that for some reason is what is engaging my rollovers.

    I will also be trying upload my swf file shortly.

    addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, rollF);

    function rollF(event:MouseEvent):void{
    gotoAndPlay("end");
    }

    Here is the file:

    http://megaswf.com/view/416d08b7a9b4...35c5fbc47.html
    Last edited by beedflash; 03-15-2010 at 01:01 AM.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    hi

    when i import my mc to a scene the rollover engages when i rollover the invisible blue box and not the image. any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks in advance .


    - removed replica watch spam, post it again, your account will be forever removed - gerbick (supermod)

  5. #5
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    So what exactly is one supposed to look at? You provided a link and some code, great, but still have no idea what in the swf to be concentrating on, or what the code relates to in the swf.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    ok. well if you go and try the rollover you will see that the action starts before the mouse even rolls over the image. whenever i play each of the image in there own swf file they work exactly as how i want them to. It seems to happen when i bring them all together in one scene is when it has issues. Some how the square invisible box that you see when in import the scene is engaging the rollover.

    sorry about the other code this is what i have coded for the rollover for the folder.

    addEventListener(MouseEvent.ROLL_OVER, rollE);

    function rollE(event:MouseEvent):void{
    gotoAndPlay("start");
    }

    addEventListener(MouseEvent.ROLL_OUT, rollH);

    function rollH(event:MouseEvent):void{
    gotoAndPlay("middle");
    }

    Hopefully that makes it a little more clear for you. sorry but still trying to learn flash.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    To what object are the above event listeners attached? If you're speaking of the folder image, then I might guess as to say that there may be some misdirected code.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    well.. to be honest i just saw the code in a tutorial.. im pretty sure that there is a misdrected code. I pretty much put that same code in all of my rollover image actions except that i changed the "function roll letters". i was hoping that it wouldve solved my problems. Im not sure but how would you go about coding the addeventlistener? The code ontop is directed towards the folder swf.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Here's my suggestion, add the event listeners to the intended objects via using instance names. Quite possible it could resolve any issues.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    ugh! im sorry but can you please give me an example on how the code should look like. Im not quite sure im doing it right. I went in and put in an instance name and added it to the evenlistener but still with no success...

  11. #11
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    For example, the iPhone mc (with an instance name of iPhone),
    Actionscript Code:
    iPhone.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, rollPhone);
    function rollPhone(e:MouseEvent):void {
        //actions go here
    }

    If this doesn't work out for try uploading an example file that I could look at.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Tried doing the instance name.. i did it for the mc and the button. but whenever i tried to preview it, it would continuously play all of the rollover animations.
    And what do you mean by uploading an example file? do you mean the flash file that your helping me on?

  13. #13
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Yes, upload the file your having trouble with and I'll have a look at it.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Can you please give me some instruction on how to upload the flash file?

  15. #15
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    If the file is under the allowed size (I think it's 300 kb), then select the "Go Advanced" button (next to "Post Quick Reply"). A new page will load, scroll down to the button "Manage Attachments", and from there I think it's quick self explanatory. If however, the file size exceeds the allotted size, upload to an external site like Media Fire.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Tried to upload the flash file but got this message:

    "Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing."

    Not to sure what it mean.. I tried loading the actual flash file. Not sure if that is whats needed. Dont think that it was too big.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Oh.. sorry the file was too big. Instead i uploaded it to media fire as you suggested.. hopefully you can figure out the issue. Im not too good with flash yet and probably coded everything wrong.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?lummqinomu4

  18. #18
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    It's not your code that's causing the issues, although I'd suggest employing better practices when it comes to the code, such as keeping as much of it on the main timeline. Your methods will still work, but it's a messy having code throughout the file. Now, as for the rollover issues, it has to do with the objects themselves. Go into edit mode and trace back each object to it's origin and you'll notice that they're bitmaps. If you double click on those, you should see a black dot pattern appear, even in areas of the background which essentially is causing the issues. So either erase the unneeded areas or redo the artwork. I've attached an example file with a rough idea... it's not too much different from yours. Have a look and good luck.

    File
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Argghh! redo the art work.. dang.. well i did the artwork in AI and i thought that flattening the images wouldnt give me those issues. I also heard that it was best to make mc and import them into the timeline so it would save space and upload time.. but not sure anymore ill take your word for it. Ive also tried opening your file but it say "decompression has failed" not too sure what that means but will definitley keep trying to look at the file. Thanks for all your help! Im sure ill be looking for your expertise in the near future.

  20. #20
    Senior Member Robb@exo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    What version of Flash are you using?
    I tried uploading it again. Check this one.
    File
    Last edited by Robb@exo; 03-18-2010 at 05:32 PM.
    Wile E. Coyote - "Clear as mud?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center