A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 101 to 109 of 109

Thread: INSTA-TUTE! - Popping a New Window in a Single Step

  1. #101

    working with pop up from exe

    Originally posted by Janex
    Sorry everyone, I made a mistake with the replies... I was just trying to find out if the script GGW and Ilya posted concerning the open new window worked for standalone .exe file on a cdrom.

    It works fine for an movie inside an html page but not for a projector because it opens another browser window with the word [object].

    Tanxs again
    Janex

    JANEX... ANYONE...!!! have you found an answer to your question? I'm dealing with this now and can't FOR THE LIFE OF ME.. find the answer.. do we have to run our initial movie through an html format instead of exe... cuz I have mine on a cd too that starts up automatically...

    Help!! Thanks!! me


  2. #102
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    5

    Re: working with pop up from exe

    Originally posted by Snowboard Grrl
    Originally posted by Janex
    Sorry everyone, I made a mistake with the replies... I was just trying to find out if the script GGW and Ilya posted concerning the open new window worked for standalone .exe file on a cdrom.

    It works fine for an movie inside an html page but not for a projector because it opens another browser window with the word [object].

    Tanxs again
    Janex

    JANEX... ANYONE...!!! have you found an answer to your question? I'm dealing with this now and can't FOR THE LIFE OF ME.. find the answer.. do we have to run our initial movie through an html format instead of exe... cuz I have mine on a cd too that starts up automatically...

    Help!! Thanks!! me

    I've also been waiting for an answer on this topic for some time now, but no one seems to be responding one way or another. One person emailed me saying it could be done, but then did not respond as to HOW.

  3. #103
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    51

    Re: Re: working with pop up from exe

    Originally posted by Fatdoggy
    Originally posted by Snowboard Grrl
    Originally posted by Janex
    Sorry everyone, I made a mistake with the replies... I was just trying to find out if the script GGW and Ilya posted concerning the open new window worked for standalone .exe file on a cdrom.

    It works fine for an movie inside an html page but not for a projector because it opens another browser window with the word [object].

    Tanxs again
    Janex

    JANEX... ANYONE...!!! have you found an answer to your question? I'm dealing with this now and can't FOR THE LIFE OF ME.. find the answer.. do we have to run our initial movie through an html format instead of exe... cuz I have mine on a cd too that starts up automatically...

    Help!! Thanks!! me

    I've also been waiting for an answer on this topic for some time now, but no one seems to be responding one way or another. One person emailed me saying it could be done, but then did not respond as to HOW.
    Hi everyone! Same problem here!! I have an .exe or .swf that needs to link a local html file inside the CD ROM...
    How can this be fixed since it doesn't work as the normal
    online javascript code?

    Thx

    Greets!

    Mcmanus

  4. #104
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    51

    Re: Re: working with pop up from exe

    Originally posted by Fatdoggy
    Originally posted by Snowboard Grrl
    Originally posted by Janex
    Sorry everyone, I made a mistake with the replies... I was just trying to find out if the script GGW and Ilya posted concerning the open new window worked for standalone .exe file on a cdrom.

    It works fine for an movie inside an html page but not for a projector because it opens another browser window with the word [object].

    Tanxs again
    Janex

    JANEX... ANYONE...!!! have you found an answer to your question? I'm dealing with this now and can't FOR THE LIFE OF ME.. find the answer.. do we have to run our initial movie through an html format instead of exe... cuz I have mine on a cd too that starts up automatically...

    Help!! Thanks!! me

    I've also been waiting for an answer on this topic for some time now, but no one seems to be responding one way or another. One person emailed me saying it could be done, but then did not respond as to HOW.
    Hi everyone! Same problem here!! I have an .exe or .swf that needs to link a local 800x434 html file inside the CD ROM...How can this be fixed since it doesn't work like normal online opening sized window javascript code?

    Thx

    Greets!

    Mcmanus

  5. #105
    Senior Member Ray Beez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    2,793
    No easy way.
    You need to find a Java programmer, and have them make a little app that launches the browser with fullscreen on, toolbars and all that stuff turned off.

    RB

  6. #106
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    6

    centering

    Originally posted by DJ_empty
    OK cool. It works, except my pop-up window opens at the top-left of my screen. How do I get it to open in the center of the screen?
    did you ever figure this out? HOw do you center the popup window in the flash movie (not the browser window)?

  7. #107
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    15
    Originally posted by GreatGooglyWoogly
    Here it is - the code to pop a new window in a single step:

    For Flash 5 - put this in your button:

    on (release) {

    getURL ("javascript:window.open('http://www.flashkit.com','NameofWindow','width=800,height =600,top=0,left=0'); void(0);");

    }

    Change the URL, window size, position, etc. to your specs...


    For Flash 4 - put this in your button:

    On (Release)
    Get URL ("javascript:window.open('http://www.flashkit.com','NameofWindow','width=800,height =600,top=0,left=0'); void(0);")
    End On

    Again, change the URL, window size, position, etc. to your specs...

    Thanks for this script goes to Polar Lights Studios (www.polar-lights.com) who gave me the initial code to modify!


    [Edited by GreatGooglyWoogly on 02-18-2001 at 09:52 PM]
    Thanks for the help, since I'm new at this I should have been more specific. I have a DreamWeaver file(simple page two buttons-one for html site one for Flash site)that lauches the flash site, how do I get the flash site to load in a new window with no browser(IE5/NetScape)
    Thanks again

  8. #108
    Ryan Thomson EvolveDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    3,338
    This may be kind of a unique issue.. but I tried out the script and it works awsome offline, but when I upload it, not only does the popup no come up, but my mainpage disappears... Has this happened to anyone else?


    thanks

  9. #109
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    27

    Re: Re: Re: working with pop up from exe

    hi all!!!

    i've the same prob!!!
    anyone has figured this out?? help!!!


    Originally posted by mcmanus
    Originally posted by Fatdoggy
    Originally posted by Snowboard Grrl
    Originally posted by Janex
    Sorry everyone, I made a mistake with the replies... I was just trying to find out if the script GGW and Ilya posted concerning the open new window worked for standalone .exe file on a cdrom.

    It works fine for an movie inside an html page but not for a projector because it opens another browser window with the word [object].

    Tanxs again
    Janex

    JANEX... ANYONE...!!! have you found an answer to your question? I'm dealing with this now and can't FOR THE LIFE OF ME.. find the answer.. do we have to run our initial movie through an html format instead of exe... cuz I have mine on a cd too that starts up automatically...

    Help!! Thanks!! me

    I've also been waiting for an answer on this topic for some time now, but no one seems to be responding one way or another. One person emailed me saying it could be done, but then did not respond as to HOW.
    Hi everyone! Same problem here!! I have an .exe or .swf that needs to link a local 800x434 html file inside the CD ROM...How can this be fixed since it doesn't work like normal online opening sized window javascript code?

    Thx

    Greets!

    Mcmanus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center