A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sliding Background

Question Sliding Background

Hello, thank you for taking the time to read my question.
    This is my first time using Flash to create a website. I am not familiar with Action Script, its functions classes etc., however I am familiar in programming in JAVA.
    I will be using ActionScript 3 and Flash CS5. (I have Flash CS4 also if needed)

I am trying to create a website with a scrolling background that has 4 different scenes.

I have attached an image to illustrate my idea.

There will be a user interface, consisting of 4 buttons, which will be on stage at all times.

Each of the button will correspond to a different scene of the background. So if the user clicks on the third button, the background will slide itself until the third scene appears on the stage.

Questions in mind:

How would the coding be like? I am planning to apply it to the button. So the background should shift ___ amount of pixels to the left or right depending on which scene the user is currently in. So if background is currently at position 800,0 (so the user is currently in scene 2) and the user clicks on 4th button. The background should move -1600 so the 4th scene will appear on stage. I am guessing there is 16 different cases I have to address.

Assuming if that works, how would I also move the other objects on the scenes of background? Such as links to email address or my portfolio.

Thank you very much for your help!

Assuming that your first scene starts at (0, 0) coordinates and you know either how many pixels each screen occupies or where exactly that screen starts (in coordinates) you can simply do something like:

var screenWidth:Number = 800; // Seems like that's the number you want
    private function onGreenButtonClick(e:MouseEvent):void
    {
    this.background.x = - (1 * screenWidth); // 0 for first screen, 1 for second screen,...
    }