dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: question about this game

  1. #1
    Senior Member fantasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    at the progress bar
    Posts
    409

    question about this game

    hi there,

    a customer would like to have a game similar to this one here:
    http://www.nitrome.com/games/offtherails/

    i was wondering if anyone with more games background than me has an idea on the underlying principle.
    is it tilebased?
    is it using a standart physics engine, or some fake stuff?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Wabbit
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Winchester, Uk
    Posts
    215
    Its tile based and based off the bike stunt games you find thats you best place to start looking.

    Trust my code, and not my english.

  3. #3
    Senior Member fantasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    at the progress bar
    Posts
    409
    ah, i see. found some more
    do you know a good open source physics engine for this kind of game?
    i guess they didn't roll their own.

  4. #4
    Senior Wabbit
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Winchester, Uk
    Posts
    215
    Often your best to create your own physics to the purpose but you can often tweek to your needs anyway
    a list of engines are below

    AS2 - Opensource - flade

    AS3 - OpenSource - box2dflash
    AS3 - OpenSource (FLASH 3D) - WOW 3D
    AS3 - OpenSource - Foam
    AS3 - OpenSource - Ape

    Flade -as2 or ape-as3 are your best bets for your use

    Trust my code, and not my english.

  5. #5
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Wabbit View Post
    Often your best to create your own physics
    Ever heard the phrase, "Don't reinvent the wheel"? How many different types of physics are there? It's the reason people have packaged up physics engines like those. It's often best to tweak an existing engine to your needs but you can create your own physics to the purpose.
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  6. #6
    Senior Wabbit
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Winchester, Uk
    Posts
    215
    I was being helpful and yes the phrase has been heard many a time and what you have said is correct but often most dont require an engine unless the project involved is of any scale or features as most games created in flash dont require much in the way of physics hence the use of the word often. Also the often again with the tweek to your needs linking to what you said
    It's often best to tweak an existing engine
    I was tying to post fast so tying not to type a lot but hopefully this should expand what I mean

    Trust my code, and not my english.

  7. #7
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,379
    Don't be mistaken. All I was implying was that you had it backwards. In a real application with deadlines and such, you're going to use an existing engine rather than writing one yourself and wasting time. However, it is all dependent on scale as you mentioned and should be treated as such.
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  8. #8
    Senior Wabbit
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Winchester, Uk
    Posts
    215
    Arhh sorry often rushing and dont read what I type and so will normally make mistakes but glad we have that cleared up now. Best of luck fantasio and if you need anymore info ask otherwise mark as resolved

    Thanks

    Trust my code, and not my english.

  9. #9
    formerly hooligan2001 :) .hooligan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    405
    Tweaking something else can often be more of a head ache and time consuming then writing your own
    World Arcade | Facebook | Twitter - Follow MEEEE! or not......

  10. #10
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,379
    So you'd rather rewrite APE from scratch for a simple platformer?
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  11. #11
    Senior Member fantasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    at the progress bar
    Posts
    409
    wow. thanks!
    great links.

    the remaining question would be if i should use the tile based principle.
    with these engines it does not seem to be necessary.

  12. #12
    Senior Member fantasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    at the progress bar
    Posts
    409
    hi again.

    i checked into ape and it seems it is not developed further since two years...
    i will look into box3d now...
    too bad ape seems to be a lot easier.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Draxus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    123
    APE is still quite useful despite being stagnant for some time now. It's easy to fix the conflict with FP10 (Vector class) and other than that it's a nice lightweight and easy to use engine.

  14. #14
    Senior Member fantasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    at the progress bar
    Posts
    409
    ah, ok.
    did you just rename the vector class?
    is the performance also ok compared to the more polished ones?

    thanks

  15. #15
    Hype over content... Squize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Lost forever in a happy crowd...
    Posts
    5,928
    Go with box2D mate, it's pretty much the standard with a very active forum for it.
    Keep in mind though that it's got a pretty step learning curve and the docs are far from great.

    @IP, wow

    Squize.

  16. #16
    Senior Member Draxus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by fantasio View Post
    ah, ok.
    did you just rename the vector class?
    is the performance also ok compared to the more polished ones?

    thanks
    Yeah, I just used find and replace to rename all references to APEVector. I've only used a couple other engines but performance has been great for me.

  17. #17
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Squize View Post
    @IP, wow
    Yep. Thought that might shock the hell out of you to hear from my mouth.
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  18. #18
    formerly hooligan2001 :) .hooligan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    405
    So you'd rather rewrite APE from scratch for a simple platformer?
    I probably would. Few reasons why. Learning curve of the API. Is it too much work for something so simple. Do I have to edit my game mechanics to fit the API and then help when stuck. I think I'd find more help with a physics specific formula then and API.

    But this is just me. I've worked with too many API's to find I have to alter the crap out of them to get exactly what I want.
    World Arcade | Facebook | Twitter - Follow MEEEE! or not......

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    10
    having used both, i also give a vote for box2d over APE --though APE is easier to learn

    box2d definitely has a steeper learning curve..but is worth it IMHO

  20. #20
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,379
    You guys are missing the point...
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center