A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Error 1009. Should be an easy fix

Error 1009. Should be an easy fix

I just started learning ActionScript 3.0/Flash CS5 a day or two ago, and I am still very early on with it, however I do have some other web development experience with PHP and some Javascript.

I am learning from a book that was written for Flash CS4, but it did not seem like a whole bunch was different. I am now getting "Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference. at Main()"

I did several searches for the problem here, but most of the threads referencing this error are far more complex than what I am trying to do, involving multiple, long class files and the timeline. I have been unable to solve my problem after reading through various threads for hours now. Most of the fixes had to do with the timeline, however, all of my GUI is in one frame with no animation.

Anyway, what I have is the beginning of a simple "Guess the number" game. I have a TLF text box for output text, a Classic text box for guessing input (not sure how to do input text boxes in Classic text since my book is for CS4), and a button to submit the guess. Here is my very short script I have so far:

Code:
    package {
    	import flash.display.MovieClip;
    	import flash.events.MouseEvent;

public class Main extends MovieClip {
    		var startMsg:String;
    		var mysteryNumber:uint;

public function Main() {
    			outputBox.text = " ";
    			init();
    		}

function init():void {
    			startMsg = "I am thinking of a number between 1 and 100.";
    			mysteryNumber = 50;
    			outputBox.text = startMsg;
    			input.text = " ";
    		}
    	}
    }
    I have commented out various code and determined that the problem is in both of the "outputBox.text" calls. The GUI will not show up until I comment both of them out. With them active, all I get are three blinking dots on the screen without the GUI loaded.