A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Depth help

Depth help

I have been trying to change the depth of an object. I have only just started learning AS3, so I haven't looked into this yet.

So far I have been using a trial-&-error method to try to get this piece of code to work which I found on a site, but I have not succeeded:

Code:
    setChildIndex(example,numChildren-1);
    I am putting this code in it's class, and I tried replacing the word example with 'this'. Can someone please help me? When I test the swf it comes up with this in output:

Code:
    ArgumentError: Error #2025: The supplied DisplayObject must be a child of the caller.
    	at flash.display::DisplayObjectContainer/setChildIndex()
    	at Foreground/enterFrame()
    If there is any more information I need to give to be more helpful just ask

I'm no expert either, but I'll try to answer to the extent of my knowledge.

I think you're having problems because your trying to use setchildindex and numchildren on an object itself (the parent trying to place itself as a child inside itself?) so, i dont know what other classes and/or what structure you are using but you could try
    Actionscript Code:
    Movieclip(parent).setChildIndex(this, Movieclip(parent).numChildren-1);
    see if that works. also, you could create a variable like
    Actionscript Code:
    var parentClip = MovieClip(parent);
    and use the parentClip variable instead of MovieClip(parent) all the time.

by saying

PHP Code:
    setChildIndex(thisnumChildren 1); 
    you're trying to have the parent call the method on itself.

whatever is containing the movieclip to move is the one that should call the method - this is the parent. the movieclip you want to change depths on is called the child. the first argument (where it shows "example") is the one that you want to move up.

both need references - either variables, or instance names. i'll use "parentInstance" and "childInstance" for the example.

PHP Code: