A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: how to link external files (.doc, .pdf, .jpeg, .mov) in Adobe action script 2.0

Question how to link external files (.doc, .pdf, .jpeg, .mov) in Adobe action script 2.0

Task: I want to make an interactive DVD which will have a home page and 5 buttons to load 5 different files stored in the same DVD. The file formats are .doc, .pdf, .jpeg, .mov, .html

Plan: I want to do it in Adobe Flash Actionscript 2

Have done: I have designed the home page layout and buttons in Adobe Flash Actionscript 2.

Assistance required: I am having problem to link the external files (that is, .doc, .pdf, .jpeg, .mov) which i kept in the same directory with the flash file. I could activate the button to open URL only.

It would be a great help if you help me to solve this problem. Pls note that i am a beginner of flash.

Thanks in advance.

Nree

use getURL("file address"); for your buttons, I guess it helps you

better solution

I also had the same problem and function getURL() wasn't suitable for me because it launches the called document with a browser.

I found much better solution on the net which can either call the document with its original application (meaning .doc file with MS Office, .pdf with Acrobat Reader etc.) or call the directory in which you store the documents you want to launch.

The solution is a combination of a proxy.exe file (which I've downloaded from the net) and a .bat file which you create on your own (with Notepad - just add .bat extension).

PROCEDURE DESCRIPTION

1. Create a .fla document with links (I will describe how to do so later on) and publish it as a projector file

2. Create a "fscommand" directory as a sub-directory inside the directory of your projector file (with links)

I. Opening a file with its original application
    --> say you want to open the "something.doc" file --> copy that file inside the fscommand directory