A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: [RESOLVED] SWF doesn't doesn't appear in IE8 - $

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    81

    [RESOLVED] SWF doesn't doesn't appear in IE8 - $

    Why doesn't this flash map show in IE8, but it works in Chrome and Firefox?

    http://www.creativesolutionsinhealth...ty_locator.htm

    I would very much appreciate your help. Please submit your best price and estimated time to fix it to: jeremy@thecreativelaboratory.com

    Regards,

    Jeremy

  2. #2
    Senior Member Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    The link to the example was invalidated by vBulletin.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Steven FN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    276
    I guess the link was supposed to be:

    http://creativesolutionsinhealthcare...ty_locator.htm

    The flash seems to load appropriately. I see a flash vertical menu on the left side.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    The problem is the map. Click the "communities" tab to see the map. Then select the "about us" tab and then the "community locator" map at the bottom. The map doesn't show up sometimes. If it doesn't show up and you refresh, it does show up.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    81
    Genesis F5, thank you for the help. Any idea why it is only showing up sometimes? I wish I knew what to do. Your help is very much appreciated.

    Jeremy

  6. #6
    Senior Member Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    Try using SWFObject for the map embed instead of the embed / object method since it's also being used to load the top SWF (bookstore).

  7. #7
    Flash Genie letschillout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    31.52949, 74.347272
    Posts
    146
    SWFObject always works
    Charag - 3D, Flash Games, Animations,
    Website Development & More...


  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    81
    Sorry for being so clueless. Can you show me how the code should look please?

    <object id="FlashID" classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="640" height="440">
    <param name="movie" value="map.swf">
    <param name="quality" value="high">
    <param name="wmode" value="opaque">
    <param name="swfversion" value="9.0.45.0">
    <!-- This param tag prompts users with Flash Player 6.0 r65 and higher to download the latest version of Flash Player. Delete it if you don’t want users to see the prompt. -->
    <param name="expressinstall" value="Scripts/expressInstall.swf">
    <!-- Next object tag is for non-IE browsers. So hide it from IE using IECC. -->
    <!--[if !IE]>-->
    <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="map.swf" width="640" height="440">
    <!--<![endif]-->
    <param name="quality" value="high">
    <param name="wmode" value="opaque">
    <param name="swfversion" value="9.0.45.0">
    <param name="expressinstall" value="Scripts/expressInstall.swf">
    <!-- The browser displays the following alternative content for users with Flash Player 6.0 and older. -->
    <div>
    <h4>Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.</h4>
    <p><a href="http://www.adobe.com/go/getflashplayer"><img src="http://www.adobe.com/images/shared/download_buttons/get_flash_player.gif" alt="Get Adobe Flash player" width="112" height="33" /></a></p>
    </div>
    <!--[if !IE]>-->
    </object>
    <!--<![endif]-->
    </object>

  9. #9
    Senior Member Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    PHP Code:
    <div id="mapcontent"><script type="text/javascript">
    var 
    so = new SWFObject("map.swf""map""640""440""6");
    so.write("mapcontent");</script></div

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by Genesis F5 View Post
    PHP Code:
    <div id="mapcontent"><script type="text/javascript">
    var 
    so = new SWFObject("map.swf""map""640""440""6");
    so.write("mapcontent");</script></div
    I tried this code, but I'm just not sure I am doing it right. Would you mind helping with the attached page?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thanks for any help you can provide:
    www.creativesolutionsinhealthcare.com/Page.zip

  12. #12
    Senior Member Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    If the problem persists, I suspect the error is with map.swf. As mentioned before, the map shows up if you reload the page.

    I think what's happening is the function that builds the map isn't being called once the XML loads. The reason it works on a reload is because states.xml is already cached from before.

    I can provide a quote to fix the map.swf application if that's the case.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thank you for fixing it!!!! Very much appreciated!!!!!

  14. #14
    Senior Member whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,756
    WHOA!..

    when did we start doing 'freebies' and posting solutions in the freelance section?

    glad its fixed.

    thread closed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center