A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: AS2 - problems with uploaded website

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    nomad
    Posts
    61

    Question AS2 - problems with uploaded website

    I've recently uploaded a portfolio website done for a friend, and as it stands,
    none of the actual content is loading.

    It's a basic artist's website, with images, cv, etc. but when I attempt to click on the appropriate buttons to load the portfolio images or the CV, none of it works. Additionally, there's a preloader, but I can't see it loading when it go to the site.

    www.djawrunner.com

    ...each button is supposed to load separate .SWFs.
    Could it be that the entire thing is just too large? What else might be preventing this from working online properly???

    for some prior background, here's my most recent thread concerning
    this project: http://board.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?t=821135

    Thanks to anyone that can help with this!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    37
    First off make sure that you spell out the whole domain explicitly in your fla file.
    don't just say (in pseudocode)
    url = www.djawrunner.com
    put
    url = http://www.djawrunner.com/
    Also make SURE That all capitalization in files are capitalized in the .fla. Depending on how your site is set up it might treat A differently than a.
    For example, if you had a file named Music.mp3 in your home directory, and went to
    http://www.djawrunner.com/music.mp3, that could potentially load differently than http://www.djawrunner.com/Music.mp3. Depending on how things are set up, the first _might_ work, but the latter will ALWAYS work.

    Secondly, this is probably what your main problem is. Go to file -> publish settings. from there tab over to "flash". Then make sure that for "Local playback security" it is set to "Access Network Only"

    Lastly, if you're going to be using the swf offsite for any reason, yet it still depends on your website, make sure to add this line of code to it.
    Actionscript Code:
    Security.allowDomain("http://www.WHATEVERDOMAINHOSTEDON.com");

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    nomad
    Posts
    61

    Thumbs up

    Xanathalas,

    Massive thanks for the detailed response-- I've been out of town and unable to get online, but will follow the advice of your post and see how it goes!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    nomad
    Posts
    61

    Question

    So, I toggled the settings to "Access Network Only" and it still doesn't work.

    I can't find much on uploading flash websites that utilize external SWFs, but have some basic questions that may clarify things.

    I am set up as such:

    "Website" folder (containing):
    -Main .fla
    -Main .swf
    -index.html file for main
    -AC_RunActiveContent

    (separate .FLAs/SWFs for the main file to call upon)

    -cv.fla
    -portfolio.fla
    -(and an editable "cvTextFile")


    What do I do with the portfolio and cv files w/ respect to uploading? Do they require separate index.html files that must be uploaded as well?

    And finally, where do I place the code concerning "url = http://www.djawrunner.com"?

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    nomad
    Posts
    61

    Question

    Bumping for some confirmation on this...Still can't find resources that detail uploading flash websites that utilize multiple SWFs.

    Thanks in advance!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    nomad
    Posts
    61
    Sorry for bumping again...any help w/ this is much appreciated.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    324
    First off, your .fla files never have to be uploaded to the server. They will NOT display in a Web browser... only the .swf file they produce need to be uploaded.
    So if you are drawing in Flash assets from those .fla files... produce the .swf and upload that instead.
    Then post a link to the Web page... it makes diagnosing the problem much easier than guessing.
    Best wishes,
    Video Man

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center